FX1 Capture problem - Corrupt input at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 9th, 2009, 01:05 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
FX1 Capture problem - Corrupt input

I am attempting to capture from my FX1 into Adobe Premiere Pro CS2. I am getting blocky artifacts when attempting to capture in HDV. When capturing with iLink enabled (HDV-->DV) I get "Unknown camcorder error" in the places where blockiness occurs in HDV capture.

The thing is: playback is flawless on the LCD of the camera--no pausing, dropouts, etc. So I am unsure of what could be doing this. Any ideas would be appreciated.

Example frame attached.
Attached Thumbnails
FX1 Capture problem - Corrupt input-example.jpg  
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2009, 02:04 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
First thing to do, is try swapping out the firewire cable.
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2009, 02:49 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
I just tried a different firewire cable; still the same problem. I ALSO tried capturing directly from camera mode, and the problem still persisted, so we know it is not a problem with the tape mechanism.
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2009, 02:51 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
I thought this was a Cineform problem, but I'm not so sure anymore. I will try m2t capture through Premiere only.
__________________
BenWinter.com

Last edited by Ben Winter; May 9th, 2009 at 03:26 PM.
Ben Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2009, 04:45 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
I believe I have found the problem--there seems to be an issue with my RAID array, as I ran a HDD speed check and found read/write speeds to be horribly slow (2MB write, 5MB read) It is possible that this bottleneck is causing Premiere to "clog up" while capturing. I am going to defragment and see if this is a viable solution.
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2009, 04:56 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
Is your hard drive defragged?
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2009, 06:28 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
My system hard drive is; my RAID 0 where my video is being captured has never been. However according to the defragmenter there's minimal defragmentation (less than 10%) and in the three years I've had this system, I've never encountered a problem before. I'm defragging now, but it's taking an awfully long time. Two hours yield 8% progress...
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2009, 01:15 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
Just wanted to post a conclusion to this...a failed hard drive within my RAID setup was the culprit. It was causing the entire RAID to slow down to about 2MB/sec throughput, so capturing to the disk would fail after the buffer ran out and Premiere didn't know what to do with all the extra information.

I removed the drive, reset the RAID and all is well.
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:06 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network