Most likely component outs on Z1 are full of compression at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 21st, 2004, 10:02 PM   #1
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: denton, texas, usa
Posts: 416
Most likely component outs on Z1 are full of compression . . . .

Say guys,

Everyone here's be wondering if the component outs on the Z1 was going to be pre-compression . . . but Scott Billups (www.pixelmonger.com) says the following . . . .

"After converting the component from the Z1 using the AJA Transcoder, it appears to be less than 2:1:1. One rather educated guess was 1.6:0.8:0.8"

. . . assuming he's correct, this of course means it's crap.

Oh well, what do you expect from them anyway.
Laurence Maher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2004, 12:23 AM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
There's no question that Scott Billups is highly revered in this industry. I have his book. He's an amazingly insightful guy. He's worked with some amazing people. But he's been wrong before. I'll never forget DV Expo West 2003 when all these people came up to the Canon booth wanting to see the XL2 because Billups had told them it would be there... the camera was still more than six months away at that point. There's nothing wrong with speculating about what the Z1 can or can't do, but I'll wait for the reports from people who've had their hands on Z1 production samples when they're shipping.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2004, 03:28 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 32
Would like to know Scott's setup for testing this. I expect he'd done a live capture and not a recorded one. I asked Sony Engineering to check the video paths and they told me "out of the encoding 'big black chip' (with no detailed schematic!) comes two signals. One to the mpeg2 encoder and one to the component out circuit."
Presently I'm waiting for a response as to the number of data bits going into the D/A converter for the component out.
Can you tell me where Scott said this?

Thank you,
David farland
David Farland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2004, 07:00 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
David: I think you mixed the two up. I expect he did a test with
a recorded session (hence, it has been MPEG-2 compressed to
tape!!) instead of a live session.

It makes sense that a live session would go directly to component
out (hence Sony's talk about two paths). Keep in mind that you
will need a high quality component lossless or near (visually) lossless
board will you see any benefits.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2004, 09:38 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 158
Re: Most likely component outs on Z1 are full of compression . . . .

<<<-- Originally posted by Laurence Maher : Say guys,
Everyone here's be wondering if the component outs on the Z1 was going to be pre-compression . . . but Scott Billups (www.pixelmonger.com) says the following . . . .
"After converting the component from the Z1 using the AJA Transcoder, it appears to be less than 2:1:1. One rather educated guess was 1.6:0.8:0.8"
. . . assuming he's correct, this of course means it's crap.
Oh well, what do you expect from them anyway. -->>>

Where did he said that and where was the test made?
Any links?
Only thing I understand from that line is that fx1's 960x1080 chips can't make totally full 1920x1080 resolution.
It's a component signal and chroma components have half the bandwidth of the luma. So nothing about compression really, just about resolution of the camera (lens&ccd&dsp).
Toke Lahti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2004, 02:51 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 32
That’s spot on Rob…that why I’m hoping the studio solution of say an AJA HD10A, Decklink HD, PCI-X system & 4/6 Sata raid drives, isn’t throwing ‘pearls to swine’.

I’m guessing the way to be certain is running waveform monitor tests (NLE or external) or finding out from Sony, or Scott, if he’s done the live test.
Moving on though, the field solution is a lot more interesting which is why I’m concerned with the “Wanting to design high definition field capture pc system” thread.

Life would be a lot simpler if:
1) someone with the setup did a live component WFM test to ascertain the colour space i.e.10bit 4:2:2
2) Sony gave us the live ccd to component signal path…yeah.
3) We knew Scott Billups’s test setup to be live capture, looked at his data and found he’s right so we can drop the whole issue
or
4) If Scott's test wasn't on the live component, and it the component out turns out to be good quality, I just wish that Apple hurry up and support pci-express so Blackmagic, their partner can release a low cost Decklink HD pci-express board which we can all use in single cpu pc based (or mac) systems and do low cost component 4:2:2 live capture.

Thank you,
David Farland
David Farland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2004, 07:54 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Colorado Springs CO
Posts: 120
The very moment I get my Z1 I'll be able to test this (assuming it hasn't already been proved/debunked between now and then).

After viewing a demo FX1 "live" on my HP2335 via component I'm less of a skeptic about the potential of a pre-compression output.

I have a Leitch VelocityHD setup, and will record from an AJA HD10A converter into my system uncompressed while also recording per normal in camera to tape.

Then I will do a "difference" test between the two images, in Digital Fusion and look for signs of compression. Should be pretty definative, but will be a good 75 to 90 days from now till Z1 release until I can try this...


If it works out that the live component feed IS before compression, then this will be a nice studio setup for bluescreen work. I'll get a BlackMagic Multibridge (instead of the AJA HD10A) to make it easier to do all this transcoding, as it offers far more features for not much more money...

Also, since the VelocityHD records 8 or 10 bit, compressed or uncompressed, I'll have some bandwidth saving options besides relying on just uncompressed HD . I'd wager recording 30 to 40 Megs/sec 4:2:2 compressed will blow doors off of native HDCAM at 21 Megs/sec 3:1:1.

Fun times ahead...

Regards,

Jim Arthurs
Jim Arthurs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2004, 11:37 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Katoomba NSW Australia
Posts: 635
<<<-- Originally posted by Jim Arthurs : The very moment I get my Z1 I'll be able to test this (assuming it hasn't already been proved/debunked between now and then).

Fun times ahead...

Regards,

Jim Arthurs -->>>

Why the need to wait till the arrival of the Z1?
Unless I'm mistaken, the Z1 will be using the same basic imaging array as the FX1, and the FX1 has component out too boot....

If component out to any of the AJA HD cards is 'do-able' on the FX1.....you'll have your answer sooner rather than later.

If David Farland's Sony engineering connection is right, and the signal is from the processor rather than the encoder.....then there may be serious benefits for all Sony HDV camera owners.
Steve Crisdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2004, 10:01 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Colorado Springs CO
Posts: 120
"Why the need to wait till the arrival of the Z1?
Unless I'm mistaken, the Z1 will be using the same basic imaging array as the FX1, and the FX1 has component out too boot...."

Correct. But I don't have access to the FX1. Just got my hands on one for a few minutes that my dealer had brought by to show a client.

I have a PO in place for one of the first batch of five Z1's my Sony dealer is getting. That's as good as I can do for now.

If a window opens for a full day in my work schedule between now and Z1 release, AND I want to drive 90 miles (one way) and lug all my computer gear up to the dealer, I will do so. It's kind of a "Perfect Storm" of conditions to make this happen for me.

Uncompressed output would be a bonus feature for me, and one with all my other gear I could take real advantage of, but it's not a deal breaker on the purchase. I'm pretty darn confident that it is uncompressed, and hopefully someone will find out definatively between now and then.

I guess I could always buy one at Best Buy then return it in a few hours.... :)

Regards,

Jim Arthurs
Jim Arthurs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2004, 07:25 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: warsaw, poland
Posts: 440
compressed or not?

hello there,

i just left demo Z1 camera back to sony after a day of testing. unfortunatelly i wasn't in position to check is it or not compressed component, (i was without a camera when i read the thread), but i asked sony guy and he says that component is NOT compressed in any way. BUT - since he is not a guru on this - will ask someone in japan (after the cristmass). so if you people are still interested - i will pass this info as soon as i get it.

btw - did anyone tested this camera with plasma display? i noticed some bendings (like 8bit color "steps") on the screen which are not visible on real HD CRT monitor. any suggestions?

thank you,


filip
Filip Kovcin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2004, 02:27 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: California
Posts: 667
Re: Most likely component outs on Z1 are full of compression . . . .

Laurence Maher post the link to Billups talking about his test. His camera section has no FX1/Z1 info that your talking about.



<<<-- Originally posted by Laurence Maher : Say guys,

Everyone here's be wondering if the component outs on the Z1 was going to be pre-compression . . . but Scott Billups (www.pixelmonger.com) says the following . . . .

"After converting the component from the Z1 using the AJA Transcoder, it appears to be less than 2:1:1. One rather educated guess was 1.6:0.8:0.8"

. . . assuming he's correct, this of course means it's crap.

Oh well, what do you expect from them anyway. -->>>
Michael Pappas is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network