What's the difference between YPbPr & YCbCr component connections??? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 21st, 2005, 12:40 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 853
What's the difference between YPbPr & YCbCr component connections???

...and can I connect a YPbPr DVD player/HDV camera into a YCbCr connection and get a picture?

- Shannon W. Rawls
Shannon Rawls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2005, 12:49 AM   #2
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
YCbCr is the digital counterpart component to YPbPrm or the analog component. But...it's often mislabeled.
Wanna read something that is confusing on first read?

http://tig.oktobor.com/pipermail/tig...ry/004661.html

Good paper though.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2005, 12:52 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 853
I asked this question because I wanted to connect my Digital Cable, DVD Player/Sony Z1U, and Computer to my new 50" Plasma TV. But it's all the way across the room and I will need a 50' cable to connect it. Rather sitting the Z1U next to the monitor on a little stool, or running 10 different cables 50 feet and then switching the Plasma's inputs everytime I change my mind. I wanted to use the plasma as a 'monitor only' and run a single Digital Cable, and do all the switching near me. I found a box that can handle the job of all these, and was inquiring because it only takes in the 'YCbCr' type connection, and didn't know if my DVD component out or my Z1U component out would work. I got this reply email from the salesman today:

------------------------------
Hello Shannon,

Thanks for your email.

There are two types of component video formats. One is
YCbCr(interlaced) and the other is called
YPbPr(progressive scan). Our Pro Video Scaler(Model
LCDT5) supports YCbCr only.

If your DVD player can support component video output
of YCbCr, you will then be fine to connect the dvd
player to the pro video scaler along with other A/V
sources.

If your DVD player supports YPbPr component video
output only and your Plasmas panel has the YPbPr
connectors in the color-coded RCA jacks, you should
just connect the dvd to the plasma directly, no need
to go through the converter since YPbPr output is HD
format already.

Again, If you plan on running a VGA cable of 50' long,
you will need to get a VGA distributor with amplifier
built in so the siganls can be relayed effectively.

Yes, we welcome you to order it directly from our web
store, http://www.ambery.com/ambery/provitoxgaco.html

Sincerely,

Dvio
Ambery Corp.
http://www.ambery.com

-----------------------------

So how are you guys plugging up your FX1/Z1U's to your HD televisions? Are you doing it the mundane way of placing it near the TV and using the supplied cable from sony? or do you have a fancier/neater way?

- ShannonRawls.com
Shannon Rawls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2005, 04:14 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicoutimi, Canada
Posts: 334
Woa...

These sellers, really get it so confusing...

First thing first: A DVD is not HD from the Y:Cr:Cb, of course, since DVD's are SD :)
Secundo, Y:Cr:Cb can output progressive and interlaced, it is quite untrue that one is interlaced and the other is progressive.
Tertio, an HD capable TV will either receive a HD component signal and display it as such or upscale a component SD signal to 1080i or 540p (depending on options, models and source of the signal).

What that all means is that any, HD capable tv with HD component in CAN receive the signal directly from the camera's component out. What the seller probably meant is that the plasma cannot receive true HD from the component input. If so, you will have to adjust the camera's output to either 480i or 480p.

I actually connected the camera to 4 different HDTV's without a glitch.
__________________
Eric Bilodeau
video SFX,DOP
___________________
http://www.fictis.net
info@fictis.net
Eric Bilodeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2005, 05:12 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Katoomba NSW Australia
Posts: 635
<<<-- Originally posted by Shannon Rawls :

So how are you guys plugging up your FX1/Z1U's to your HD televisions? Are you doing it the mundane way of placing it near the TV and using the supplied cable from sony? or do you have a fancier/neater way?

- ShannonRawls.com -->>>

I use the mundane method.

Though for clips transferred to my PCs and edited, I play back to HDTV via a LAN connected ROKU Photobridge (used to be called the HD1000) media player. Some folks are using the AVEL Linkplayer in preference to the ROKU.

It all links into a 5.1 amp for damned good audio reproduction on Cerwin Vega speakers....
Steve Crisdale is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:11 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network