Z1 secret plug - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 8th, 2005, 07:39 AM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: warsaw, poland
Posts: 440
you read my mind.

filip
__________________
in kino (sic!) veritas
Filip Kovcin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2005, 08:31 AM   #17
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
<< it's still strange that they disabled the other option, and left it physically there. >>

It leads you to believe that it was first designed for the consumer division, and then adopted for the professional division. From a camera production standpoint, it may have been more economical to leave it there and add the cover.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2005, 08:54 AM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: warsaw, poland
Posts: 440
chris,

you are absolutelly right, the money rules here, but i can BET that when i tested DEMO Z1 camera (the unit which was shown on IBC last year) the plug which was used was that old style plug. so if this worked on demo version - why not on final?

the thing i do not understand is - why to heck someone is covering something which WORKS - even if this is just for a few seconds?

to sell more lithium batteries?

maybe i'm too curious.

filip
__________________
in kino (sic!) veritas
Filip Kovcin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2005, 09:23 AM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 150
If I were guessing, the Z1 is simply the FX-1 with new firmware. The demo unit you got probably was still written with a lot of the FX-1 features and they "hadn't gotten to it yet". Another example is the mic holder on the Z1. there is a cover on the FX-1 hiding the mounting hardware for the clamp.

Does the dummy battery have any circuitry? Could it be the PAL / NTSC issue? Power standards?
Mike Tiffee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2005, 10:08 AM   #20
Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 932
> you can even use that plug for feeding the power and switch on
> the camera, BUT after a while - the lcd screens shows:
> "use lithium battery" and swithces OFF. completelly.

Filip, are you using an older Sony power supply to feed the cam through this plug? Perhaps the message is just a standard error message and it is simply not supplying enough power. If so, the plug and circuitry might be fully operational!

If it's a firmware issue we can sure ask Sony tu update the firmware so the plug can be used, right? And while they are at it, they could enable DVCAM track pitch for the HDV mode... uhh... well, I can dream, can't I? <grin>
__________________
Ignacio Rodríguez in the third world. @micronauta on Twitter. Main hardware: brain, eyes, hands.
Ignacio Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2005, 10:47 AM   #21
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
It would take somebody with an FX1 power supply, a Z1 camera and a screwdriver to tell us for certain.

;-)
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2005, 11:23 AM   #22
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 842
If anyone wants to send me their Z1 for testing, I'd be happy to try it out.

:)
Bryan McCullough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2005, 02:23 PM   #23
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: warsaw, poland
Posts: 440
<<<-- Originally posted by Ignacio Rodriguez : Filip, are you using an older Sony power supply to feed the cam through this plug? ... -->>>


Ignacio,

i am using power supply from my HDV M10 player/recorder, so i beleive that this (at least) should be the same generation...
but i will try with FX1 power supply if i can find one in my neighbourhood.
will tell you then.


filip
__________________
in kino (sic!) veritas
Filip Kovcin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2005, 04:19 PM   #24
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,942
Its interesting that my old Hi8 VX3 also has the dummy battery adapter. Seems like Sony went back a lot to the past--dummy battery adapter, exactly the same manual controls as the old VX3!!!!


Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2005, 02:27 AM   #25
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: warsaw, poland
Posts: 440
i just saw a "dangerous" situation - and want to warn you about it.

my my friend was shooting "table photography" for documentary film. (papers, photographies, small things etc.) and during this shoot he had his pd150 plugged in usual way - no batteries, but thru adapter. and in certain moment he forgot about the wire of that adapter and CROSSED that "barier" line, means he pushes the wire strongly by his body - and the power plug pops off the camera.

nothing special. but his camera was on relativelly light tripod, and despite some work - to shoot the same shot again everything went fine.

but!

let's pretend that Z1 was used here - what will happend?
you cross that line where the wire is and since the whole dummy battery adapter is firmly connected with the camera - in worst case, it will pull down the camera also...

what do you think?

filip
__________________
in kino (sic!) veritas
Filip Kovcin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2005, 03:48 AM   #26
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: near Munich, Bavaria
Posts: 139
What I think ?

I think: I see more cables than this on the set.
Thas not really a reason to claim for a plug that slips out of the camera. Maybe even if your panning.

I like this Z1-solution better. But a serious plug like XLR connector would be of course the professional solution.

Somehow they dont want certain thing on such prosumer models.

So dont panic on the set :)

Greetings

Peter
Peter Rixner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2006, 01:21 AM   #27
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 479
I know this is an old discussion but has anything further been discovered about this hidden plug? Sony can be really weird sometimes.
__________________
Mark Utley
Mark Utley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2006, 01:34 AM   #28
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Fx1

Yes, everyone, that closed off plug, is the same plug I use on my FX1 for charging my batteries on camera, and for AC power.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2006, 07:55 AM   #29
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
Personally I'm not interested in plugging my Z1 into an AC line, and I especially don't want to do it through a plug that Sony has intentionally disabled. Read back through old threads here and you'll find several FX1 owners who've had camera problems requiring repairs while the charger was plugged in. I have 2 NP-F970's and a NP-F960; that's all that ever powers my camcorder. Just seems like one less thing to worry about for me...
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2006, 09:58 AM   #30
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
Yeah just seen my Z1E as it
David Dwyer is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:23 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network