Z1 secret plug at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 5th, 2005, 08:34 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: warsaw, poland
Posts: 440
Z1 secret plug

on european model of Z1 which i have (the difference is that instead of "U" at the end it has "E" - everythig else is the same) i discovered today weard thing...

on the back side of the camera, just next to that barrel button (SEL/PUSH EXEC) there is plastic cover. if you unscrew it and open it you can find "classical" sony plug which we all know from pd100, 150 etc.

you can even use that plug for feeding the power and switch on the camera, BUT after a while - the lcd screens shows: "use lithium battery" and swithces OFF. completelly.

after disconecting, i used normal battery and everything worked perfectly.

do you know what is going on with this? why this is covered?
i remember when i tested the Z1 prototype - that plug was working normally.


filip

p.s.

if this is not so clear - i can send a precise photo somewhere, to suggested site or person. i do not have possibility to publish it on web.
__________________
in kino (sic!) veritas
Filip Kovcin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2005, 01:21 AM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Hi Filip,

Please send that image to me via email. I can host it here for you. Thanks,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2005, 06:21 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: warsaw, poland
Posts: 440
chris,

pictures are flying to you.

thanks,


filip
__________________
in kino (sic!) veritas
Filip Kovcin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2005, 12:13 AM   #4
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Hi Filip,

Images are located at:

www.hdvinfo.net/images/z1pluga.jpg
www.hdvinfo.net/images/z1plugb.jpg
www.hdvinfo.net/images/z1plugc.jpg
www.hdvinfo.net/images/z1plugd.jpg
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2005, 01:51 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 52
Hmm, strange. What's the thing with that screw. On the FX1E there's no screw if I remember correctly. That cover just opens and you can use the power adapter through it. And you can even charge your batteries on the FX1E.

How is it with the Z1? Isn't it possible to use a power adapter instead of batteries?
Joonas Kiviharju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2005, 03:17 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: warsaw, poland
Posts: 440
Chris,
thanks for publishing the pictures.

Joonas,

no it is not (for now, he, he...) possible to use this plug. i do not understand why?

you have that "semi battery" adapter and Z1 works fine with it, but not with "normal" adapter (it's plug fits that secret one on the back of the camera).

filip
__________________
in kino (sic!) veritas
Filip Kovcin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2005, 11:39 AM   #7
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2
Mmmmm curious.....

Hi guys,
My first post. New kid on the forum block. I have just bought the Z1 and have the regulated NRG research (great place for lights power etc) power lead that enables you to power pd 150 from 12v Anton Bauer or other batts. It has the 'T' power end as discovered. I have this 'secret input' on my cam as well. I am itching to try run the Z1 on Antons, but due to the greater wattage draw of the Z1, am a bit nervous that the regulator may pop and I fry the back end of the Z1.
Any comments would be appreciated.
Cheers
__________________
Shooting with soul.
Polecam owner/operator(www.Polecam.com)
15 yrs Broadcast/BBC,CNN
Pete Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2005, 12:12 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,707
My Z1 has it too!
__________________
Christopher C. Murphy
Director, Producer, Writer
Christopher C. Murphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2005, 12:23 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 842
If this isn't used for external power on the Z1, what is?
Bryan McCullough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2005, 02:32 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: warsaw, poland
Posts: 440
it looks for me that this is "forgotten feature".

i didn't compare it, but - is the body of FX1 identical in size as the body of Z1? if both models are identical in size - maybe this is something what works just on Fx1? and was forgotten and left on Z1.

but, again - why inside that plug everithing - in electrical way - works normally (despite error on lcd display)? what for?

and another thought - isn't that "secret" type of plug more "normal" solution than that strange style via "semi battery" adapter? at least for me that normal plug was good enough. i use it with my mavica cd photo camera, with pd 150 and why not with Z1?
do not understand that sony's approach.


filip
__________________
in kino (sic!) veritas
Filip Kovcin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2005, 02:55 PM   #11
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2
More bucks....

My guess is that it introduces a new adapter that discourages using existing ones and encourages the stocking up of Lithium batts , rather than running it all day on a 12v brick.....may be wrong.
Seems like Sony have put a software block to further discourage this...ie shutting down the cam.....unless it is a safety feature that , once again , goes back to my question of frying the back end...
I am still hesitant to try the NRG power adapter....that I bought at this company...
http://www.nrgresearch.com/
__________________
Shooting with soul.
Polecam owner/operator(www.Polecam.com)
15 yrs Broadcast/BBC,CNN
Pete Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2005, 03:00 PM   #12
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
<< is the body of FX1 identical in size as the body of Z1? >>

Yes. The chassis is the same on both models.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2005, 07:17 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 150
On the FX-1, that's the plug that powers the camera or charges the batteries in-camera. where is the power plug on the Z1 ??
Mike Tiffee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2005, 01:15 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: warsaw, poland
Posts: 440
well, that's the problem.

there is no any "normal" plug which powers the camera, just that "semi battery" adapter.

filip
__________________
in kino (sic!) veritas
Filip Kovcin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2005, 01:51 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 52
Oh, I see what you mean. You power the Z1 with a kind of an dummy battery, that has a wire, that goes in to the power adapter.

Well, that kind of a dummy battery is better than the standard power cord. It doesn't fall of while shooting. But, it's still strange that they disabled the other option, and left it physically there.
Joonas Kiviharju is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:44 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network