Downconvert via Firewire with timecode at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 30th, 2005, 02:01 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 696
Downconvert via Firewire with timecode

I am trying to downconvert via the Z1 to a DVCAM deck (DSR-20).

I can't get the timecode to copy across to the DVCAM deck. This would be nice for when I want to re-edit my footage as HDV instead of DVCAM like I will be doing at first.

Has anyone been able to downconvert/clone footage to a DVCAM deck from the Z1 via firewire?

Thanks,

Dan Weber
Daniel Weber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2005, 10:55 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 853
only certain decks can slave timecode, and i don't think the dsr-20 is one of them.

For you, the only way to do what you want is to capture your downconverted footage to a hard-drive rather then a dv tape. This way, you will be timecode accurate for making a HD master.

I recommend "GEARSHIFT" from www.vasst.com to do this. I will post a personal review on it later.

- ShannonRawls.com
Shannon Rawls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2005, 11:01 PM   #3
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Shannon, we'll look forward to the review! BTW, there is a new build of Gearshift up there, and we'll have yet one more, smaller improvement build up in the next 48 hours.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2005, 05:38 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 696
Downconvert

Well I am on a Mac, so the VASST software is not an option.

It is hard to believe that timecode can't be copied on a clone tape.

Is this because of the HDV format? I know that some software programs have had a hard time capturing the timecode off of HDV tapes.

Thanks,

Dan Weber
Daniel Weber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2005, 10:35 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 853
No, it's not cause of Downconverted HDV. You simply wouldn't be able to do this with a DSR-20 even if you tried it with a regular old minidv camcorder. The timecode is always going to be out-of-sync when hitting play on the camera and record on the deck (unless your superman). The DSR-20 only syncs timecode if you use an external sync to jam the deck. And even then, it only works on the large DV tapes, and not the small minidv ones (but i'm not sure). Unfortunately the lowest totem-pole MiniDV camera that gives external sync is the JVC DV500. Anything below that, your SOL.

However, there are some decks out there, that will read the incoming timecode and jam-sync itself to that and begin writing on the new tape using the incoming numbers without an external BNC sync. You almost always loose the first few frames with these decks, but for me, when I did it, it was OK because my first 300 frames are always nothing but colorbars anyhow. Remember, NEVER EVER record important footage at the very beginning of a Tape (minidv, dvcam, vhs, cassette, lol)

No software programs on earth have a problem with HDV Downconverted to DV. It's real DV with real SMPTE timecode. It is the HD footage that some have a problem with, not downconverted DV. You're downconverting aren't you? If so, then you can use any FireWire DV edit-capable computer to get accurate timecode for proxy editing to eventually make an HDV/HDCAM master.

So again, I suggest you simply capture your footage with FCP2/3/4/HD/5, FCPE/HD or maybe even iMovie 2/3/4/5HD, and you can make a timecode accurate proxy DVCAM file. *smile*

- ShannonRawls.com
Shannon Rawls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2005, 11:48 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 747
To copy timecode on the DSR-20 you will need to use the DUP button instead of the usual Record button, this is how I copy timecode of my VX2000 to it, although I have not try it with the Z1.
__________________
Khoi Pham
www.proeditproductions.com
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2005, 06:17 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 853
Well there you have it. I just learned something new. Give that a whirl and let us all know.

thanks Khoi!

- ShannonRawls.com
Shannon Rawls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2005, 08:33 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: warsaw, poland
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shannon Rawls
Well there you have it. I just learned something new. Give that a whirl and let us all know.
shannon,
can you share with us your findings with that issue - with TC via firewire and dubbing.

thank you.

p.s. anyone knows will this work with sony's dsr 1500p recorder/player?

thank you,

filip
__________________
in kino (sic!) veritas
Filip Kovcin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:18 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network