Sound from Shotgun Mic into Both Channels.. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 29th, 2010, 06:48 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London UK
Posts: 88
Sound from Shotgun Mic into Both Channels..

Hi all,

I have recently purchased a Shotgum Mic (Rode NTG-2) for my Sony Z1E.

I have been testing it and can't seem to get it to record into both channels. When I listen to the sound whilst filming, there is sound in both earphones, but when I capture the footage into FCP, the sound only plays in the left speaker...

Am I doing something wrong?

Any help would be much appreciated. Cheers
James Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2010, 08:20 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NSW / Australia
Posts: 76
You can choose to capture dual mono (onto Ch1 and 2) in the clip settings tab of the capture window in FCP.
Enable both audio channel controls, and toggle the Stereo/Mono control to Mono.

I hope, that helps.
Gerd
Gerd Kogler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2010, 08:39 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London UK
Posts: 88
Thanks for the reply Gerd. Unfortunately I don't get the capture window. I capture HDV as ProRes422, and when I click Log & Capture, theres no window, it just starts capturing automatically... So I can't see how I can do what you suggest. Is there another way?

James
James Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2010, 01:19 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Page 40 of your manual. Set XLR CH SET to CH1, CH2 for INPUT 1, and make sure your mic is connected to the correct input. But if you are gettng proper sound in both earphones, it sounds as if it is recording properly.

Even if this does not work, there should be a way in FCP to fill one channel of audio in a clip with the other channel. I know Premiere has this.

Does the clip show audio in both channels on the timeline?
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:37 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network