Can the Sony FX1 do Time Lapse recording? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 11th, 2005, 04:47 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: PAL Zone
Posts: 188
Can the Sony FX1 do Time Lapse recording?

Hello

Please can someone advise me if the Sony FX1 can do Time Lapse recording? If not is there any device out there that I can buy to give it this ability?

Thanks for any help
Jim Rog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2005, 05:01 PM   #2
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
With a LANC control, you can do timelapse with the FX1, yes. The cam itself cannot.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2005, 05:06 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: PAL Zone
Posts: 188
Hi

Thanks for the quick reply

Where can I find out more info about LANC control? is this software or hardware? And with this can I have full control time lapse with the fx1?

Thanks
Jim Rog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2005, 05:38 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
First you need to define what "time lapse" means to you. I have a VX-2000 and PDX-10 and they do something called "interval recording." This is somewhat crude in that the minium setting shoots something like 1/2 second of video every 30 seconds. That would give good results when you want to speed things up by a factor of 1000x (like watching a full day in less than a minute) but it doesn't look good for shorter events like a sunset or the movement of clouds in the sky.

For those kinds of things lasting an hour or less, any camera will give you good time lapse results. Just tape normally and speed up in post. It has the disadvantage of requiring you to capture the full tape, but you'll get smooth motion.

I don't know about high definition software, but if you want to shoot in SD mode then there's software which will capture time lapse over firewire as well - see BTV Pro for the Mac. I think the FX1 may shut down automatically if a tape isn't running however, so that might be a problem.

Where can you find out about LANC control? I just typed "LANC time lapse" into Google and got many pages of results...
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2005, 06:26 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: PAL Zone
Posts: 188
Hi

I want to record 24/48 hours maybe even up to one week over time lapse recording. Yes I did a search on LANC time lapse, but the same as you I got many pages up so thatís what im trying to find out what is LANC? Is this software hardware or another term for time lapse recording?

Thanks
Jim Rog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2005, 06:54 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
LANC is simply a serial protocol whereby devices can commnunicate with camcorders. It is most frequently used for things like zoom and focus controllers that mount on a tripod handle, such as these:

http://www.varizoom.com/lenscontrols.php

Here's some info on the protocol itself:

http://www.boehmel.de/lanc.htm
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2005, 07:16 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: PAL Zone
Posts: 188
Thanks for the links.

So as far as you know there is no device out there that can somehow connect the FX1 and give it the ability to do time lapse recording apart from software? But if you do it over fire wire then you are stuck with how far the lead can go as it needs to be connected to the computer? or your going to be running into the $$$$ for some fire wire portable device correct?

Thanks
Jim Rog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2005, 07:21 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Rog
So as far as you know there is no device out there that can somehow connect the FX1 and give it the ability to do time lapse
No... that was my point about the Google search. It turned up a bunch of things, but of course you need to read their specs and see if they meet your needs; I have never used any of these personally.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2005, 01:44 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 24
have a look here: http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/archive/i...p/t-33925.html

you should be able to try such a controller in a store ...
Armin Obersteiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2005, 07:44 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: US & THEM
Posts: 827
you will need to have something 'gaffered'

heres a link to help you get started

http://translate.google.com/translat...lr%3D%26sa%3DG
__________________
John Jay

Beware ***PLUGGER-BYTES***
John Jay is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:56 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network