Cheapest way to get Z1 to be tapeless? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 9th, 2014, 09:27 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 232
Cheapest way to get Z1 to be tapeless?

Hi

What's the cheapest way to get Z1 to be tapeless? Is it even worth trying?

Thanks
Matt
Matt Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2014, 09:41 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,064
Re: Cheapest way to get Z1 to be tapeless?

I was looking for a similar solution for a fx1000 that's collecting dust here and that I'd like to give new life and I don't want to use mini-dv tapes, I have looked at the new ninja star from atomos which looks like a cheap solution but not sure if it's compatible, guess you need a hmdi out on the camera which the fx1000 has, not sure about the fx1? Otherwise you could attach a recorder that has firewire connectivity, I think the HVRMRC1K from Sony has that? Not sure if they still sell them.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2014, 10:56 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Re: Cheapest way to get Z1 to be tapeless?

Both the DR60 (HDD) and the MRC1 (CF) have been discontinued, as it seems the need for them has diminished with the widespread use of cams that record to these formats internally. But you can still find them on eBay.

The Z1 doesn't have HDMI, so you're limited to models like these with FW (i.Link) inputs.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2014, 04:35 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seminole Texas
Posts: 45
Re: Cheapest way to get Z1 to be tapeless?

I use a DR60 on my Z1 and it works great, about 4 hrs of recording. They are discontinued but the demand is still high, can't buy then cheap even on ebay. Same for the MRC1.
James E. Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2014, 06:15 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Re: Cheapest way to get Z1 to be tapeless?

At the moment there are three DR60s on eBay, all under $700 (and one currently at about $350 as I write this), which is considerably less than they went for new.

There are 5 MRCs there, with one as low as $500, which is also quite a bit below the original price.

So it's not at all true that they can't be found cheap on eBay.

Here's an interesting thread. Suggest you also check out the appropriate subforum for more info.

HVR-DR60 vs. HVR-MRC1
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2014, 09:55 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 232
Re: Cheapest way to get Z1 to be tapeless?

Ah right, probably be cheaper for me to wait and purchase a new camera, I reckon.
Matt Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2014, 12:53 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Re: Cheapest way to get Z1 to be tapeless?

Not mathematically. The cost of getting a used MRC or DR60 will be far less than the price difference between what you could get for your Z1 and the price of a new cam.

But whether the extra features and abilities of the new cam are worth it is your call. If you're happy with the Z1, why dump it?
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2014, 01:02 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
Re: Cheapest way to get Z1 to be tapeless?

fx1, z1 was one of the good 3 CCD. No problem with pan, flash, vertical movement.
just for that there is a good reason to keep these cam.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2014, 10:09 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 1,430
Re: Cheapest way to get Z1 to be tapeless?

I used the Citidisk by Shining Technologies.
Shining Technology CitiDISK FW1258XD-CF + 32GB (1000X B&H Photo

The disk was mounted on a hotshoe, and I rigged a power cable from a Coco similar to this
Bebob Engineering COCODVLII Power Converter BE-COCO-II-DVL B&H

which has D-tap output. Firewire from the camcorder to Citidisk. Shoot the Z1 with tape, and whenever you start and stop, the Citidisk will also start and stop with it.

As a matter of fact, I still have these laying around somewhere if you you're interested! My units were the older generation, Citidisk recorded directly to internal drive instead of CF card. Coco is a single battery holder instead of double battery.
Warren Kawamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2014, 03:33 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Torres Strait - Australia
Posts: 76
Re: Cheapest way to get Z1 to be tapeless?

I was thinking about how I could possibly prolong the useful life of my still very good condition HDV cameras. I was hoping to be able to use the Atomos or similar to actually record in improved resolution directly from the cams' sensor. Apparently, the native recording of the Z1 & the A1 is actually 1920 x1080i. Is there such a recorder on the market ?
cheers
Hubert Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2014, 07:57 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 547
Re: Cheapest way to get Z1 to be tapeless?

You have no SDI out on a Z1...the FW out is feeding the HDV datastream, which is 1440x1080i 1.333 PAR.

Honestly, the Z1 was a great camera for its time, but trying to extend the life of your old gear by adding someone else's old gear to it doesn't seem like a great gamble to me to do paid work.
__________________
TimK
Kolb Productions
Tim Kolb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2014, 03:17 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Torres Strait - Australia
Posts: 76
Re: Cheapest way to get Z1 to be tapeless?

Hi Tim,
yes, that's the sad & expensive reality of it all. I suppose it has to 4K now to future proof for at least 18 months.
I was simply getting my hopes up when Atomos stated "for some of the older HDV cameras".
Ah well, it's that "which camera do I buy" time again.
cheers
Hubert Hofer is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:02 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network