Cynical Sony: Z1/FX1 different Mic brackets at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 12th, 2005, 01:04 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 107
Cynical Sony: Z1/FX1 different Mic brackets

I brought a specialized CVP Mic bracket designed for the Z1 for my FX1 to allow it to take a large shotgun. If you look on the right of the viewfinder there is a rubber cap with two holes underneath it. So its got a fitting for a mic holder like the Z1, you might think? Well you're wrong. The distance of the holes on the FX1 is different from the Z1. Now why would Sony go to the trouble of doing this, other than to frustrate owners? The only reason I can imagine is to protect the market for the Z1. How annoying and petty of Sony.

Anyway I had to have another hole drilled in my Z1 bracket to make it fit the FX1. So much trouble just for that.
John Poore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2005, 05:40 PM   #2
Tourist
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
More information

John,

I'm looking to do the same thing. Can you provide additional detail on where you purchased the mount and maybe some pictures of the install process and final view.

There have been others who have asked about this combination...

Thanks
jfm
Johnny Mazan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2005, 11:06 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 17
Definitely show us some pictures.

I tested the Z1's supplied mic mount and it is definitely only worth using in a worse case scenario. The Azden shock mount is also a very poor sound/vibration isolating mic mount. I am currently using a Sennheiser MZS-CAM mount which was only $40 from B&H, which works well. Anyhow…show us some pictures when you have a chance!
Isaac Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2005, 12:38 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
John,
Is it easy to get the rubber strip off the FX1? I've got a good little mic mount that looks as if it might fit, but I don't want to ruin the rubber strip...

Robin
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2006, 04:22 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 107
Yep the rubber mount comes off easily, just loosen those two screws, but you'll need to buy 2.5mm (i think) screws to fit anything into the holes beneath it.

To find the mount bracket type 'CVP bracket' into google, its a video shop near Birmingham UK that makes 'em for £200 a pop.
John Poore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2006, 05:11 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
John - thanks for that. I'll give it a go.

Robin
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2006, 02:33 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: France
Posts: 578
Hi Guys

Yes Robin, John is correct the rubber unscrews easily and can be replaced just as simply if your mount won't fit.

I've one of these brackets and in fact when I spoke to CVS in March 2005, no one had tried to use it with the FX1. I must admit the difference in the holes on the two cameras left me mystified.
I had a long chat with CVS before buying, but figured it could easily be adapted for the FX1.
It was an easy job to drill an extra hole so that the bracket would fit on my camera. So that the LCD can still close I have angled it a tad. The hardest part was to get the tiny screws necessary tight enough, to maintain the bracket in place. I used small split rings and screws from an old dead Macintosh, that was lying around my office (the ones they sent me were too short).
I was also worried that the bracket would put too much pressure on the small screw threads of the camera body. It is quite long and due to its shape could easily lever itself off it care is not taken, especially during transport... but so far it seems fairly sturdy and after 6 months shooting, has not budged.

An expensive article, but it does work really well for mounting the AT897 mic and avoiding camera and handling noise very effectively. I can add a Lightwave Windjammer and it is never going to be in shot...

I do not use the extra mount for a wireless receiver as this I feel would put too much weight on the bracket and probably unbalance the camera. I've used heavy duty velcro to place the receiver on the battery.. works well too.

regards

Gareth

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v7...th02/cam04.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v7...th02/cam03.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v7...th02/cam02.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v7...th02/cam01.jpg

Last edited by Gareth Watkins; January 10th, 2006 at 03:04 AM.
Gareth Watkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2006, 11:04 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
Hi Gareth - and Nouvelle Année Heureuse !
Thanks for posting the pics.
However, I think I've got a pathological dread of drilling into my camera - and as you mentioned, what if there was some pull on the mic putting strain on the little screws? If they were to pull at, the thread would probably be ruined and you'd have to drill more holes - if there was room that is ...
I think that I might stick with the Lightwave bracket on the camera shoe for now. It works as it is, so, if it ain't broke... ;-)

Regards,

Robin
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2006, 11:28 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: France
Posts: 578
Hi Robin
Merci et bonne année à toi aussi au Pays de Galles....

You don't actually drill the camera... just an extra hole in the mount.
you then remove the rubber cover, which is held in place by two screws...
Under this are two threaded holes....why I ask myself are these differenct from the Z1? But they are.

Anyway... I got hold of two failrly long 2.5mm screws and two mini-split rings. (Off my old defunct Mac). This makes a good tight fit to the camera into what looks like an alloy moulded part, for the VCR and LCD screen.

I agree it could put strain on that alloy thread, but the fact that it frees up the hotshoe for my PAG light makes it worth the minimal risk. Also I would doubt it puts any more strain on the camera body than the original Sony mount on the Z1 with an AT897 fitted..

Regards
Gareth
Gareth Watkins is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:37 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network