Do it yourself firmware upgrades at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 8th, 2006, 07:08 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
if you're an expert (with ASCII porgramming knowledge), you could turn a Z1 from 1080i encoding to 1080p60 encoding. once the ATSC 1080p60 format comes out that just might be possible to turn a Z1 from 1080i to 1080p.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2006, 02:36 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Zhang
if you're an expert (with ASCII porgramming knowledge), you could turn a Z1 from 1080i encoding to 1080p60 encoding. once the ATSC 1080p60 format comes out that just might be possible to turn a Z1 from 1080i to 1080p.
Lets assume for the moment this 1080p format is avaliable, would it be possible for a noob like me who knows little about cameras themselves to find someone to do it with only cash and the camera in question?

It would be good if companies themselves actually became involved in the upkeep of old models. Like how some cams now can accept downloaded upgrades and new codecs. (So I've heard)
Leo Pepingco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2006, 01:56 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leo Pepingco
Like how some cams now can accept downloaded upgrades and new codecs. (So I've heard)
The Z1U/FX1 *can* accept upgrades to its firmware. I know it can be done. I assume it's done through the firewire. I've not seen anything about this online, but if you knew what you were doing (or were significantly insane or brave), you could definately "get up in that shizz..." and do what you will.
__________________
Brilliant Champions | Gallery Hijinks
Joe Lumbroso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2006, 05:16 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, CT (Home of EPSN)
Posts: 1,182
I will do it for you when I have the code finished - $250

Jack is right, it can be done and the mods are applied through a firewire. For safety purposes, a copy of the existing eprom code is made first. Then, the changes are applied. Anyone with a reasonably advanced knoweldge of electronic circuits and particularly non-volatile memory devices (eproms) can perfom such mods if they have access to the documented source code. Unfortunately, I don't know sqwat about any of that stuff, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express once, or was it a Ramada, or maybe it was a Motel 6. Send cash please.
__________________
Paul Cascio
www.pictureframingschool.com
Paul Cascio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2006, 07:39 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 212
Images: 8
Can anyone tell me whether we are serious here or not?

I mean can this be done for real make the cam record 60p instead of 60i?

Quality?

Wow!
Tomas Chinchilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2006, 07:45 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomas Chinchilla
Can anyone tell me whether we are serious here or not?
Of course this is serious. Also see Jack's thread about how you can perform a firmware upgrade to turn your Hyundai into a Mercedes...
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2006, 09:05 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Well, whomever made this a thread will be thanked. (I didin't intend this to be a thread.)
Edit: Oh, it was you Boyd, I never expected this topic to start a wildfire of posts!!!

I was first thinking of upgrading the encoder chip to a faster chip for encoding to MPEG-4 AVC. But you guys seem to be excited about using the current circuitry and converting from 1080i to 1080p60.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2006, 10:14 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 275
WEll, if the technology is out there, and someone is willing to do it, then I'll get my Z1 next month. If I can get 1080p and 1080i, that would be fantastico. Then I dont need that HD100.

I was only wondering that when this technology becomes readilly avaliable, will Sony offer to do it for a fee? I dont plan to send my new camera anywhere outside of Sydney... I dont trust Australia post, the Bermuda Triangle of Postal companies.
Leo Pepingco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2006, 02:30 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 735
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leo Pepingco
I dont plan to send my new camera anywhere outside of Sydney... I dont trust Australia post, the Bermuda Triangle of Postal companies.
Same with me and Melbourne. But I really like the sound of this. People kept saying "What about when 1080p cameras come out - you'll need to buy a new one... Well maybe not...

How would the NLEs deal with it though?

And can you kiss your warranty good bye with something like this?

Last edited by John Hewat; February 11th, 2006 at 05:15 AM.
John Hewat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2006, 02:39 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 97
a while back, at a confrence, I heard about a firmware update from a guy in Sweden (I think) that turned a fx1 pretty much into a z1, but never found anything online about it...

1080p on a z1 sure would be nice :)
DJ Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2006, 07:41 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
I don't know what the big deal is. I have known the secret to upgrading a FX1 to a Z1 ever since the Z1 came out.

Sell the FX1 and buy the Z1. Easy. No sweat.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2006, 04:14 PM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
^^^for NLEs, I predict Vegas could handle it. As for FCP5, maybe some additional development is required for native HDV 1080p60 to run in FCP.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2006, 11:06 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 139
Please keep the comedy factor of this thread a bit higher, otherwise people may take things serious.

For the record: there's no way to change an interlaced CCD system to a progressive one by software, you can't compress 1080p60 to 25 Mbit/s and expect any quality, and firmware updates for the FX1 and Z1 will most likely need a special tool connected to the service port located in the battery compartment.
__________________
Please keep in mind that English is not my native language.
Ben De Rydt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2006, 11:11 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 212
Images: 8
Thanks Ben for clarifying things!
Tomas Chinchilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2006, 11:24 PM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
^^I realize that so that's why I initially thought of replacing some of the parts (CCDs, Encoder chips, etc...). only daredevil repairmen could do that. Remember the guy that fitted a nikon lens on an FX1E?
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:41 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network