FX1 direct to Dell Wide HD monitor at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 25th, 2006, 04:36 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
FX1 direct to Dell Wide HD monitor

I have FX1, and a Dell 20 inch LCD Wide Screen Display (1600 x 1200 I believe). It has imputs for Video of composite (yellow RCA), S video, VGA, and DVI. Is there any way (adapter assumed) to direct connect Component out from FX1 to the monitor ?
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2006, 04:41 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 116
I could be wrong, but I am not aware of a composite to component adapter. I jusr ordered this monitor from Dell as well. It should be here tomorrow. I am kicking myself for not spending the extra money for the 24in wide that actually has component inputs. With the resolution of the 24in, it would make a almost half-way decent field monitor for 1/5 the cost.
__________________
Scott A. Vystrcil
Equipment - Sony HVR-Z1U--Firestore FS-4 Pro HD (40GB)--Cartoni Focus F101
Editing - Canopus Edius Pro 4, Intel Pentium D 940 (3.2 GHz), 2GB, 74GB SATA 10K, 160GB SATAII, 300GB SATA, nVidia GeForce 6800 (256MB), Dell 20 in widescreen flat panel (2007WFP)
http://watersedgefrisco.com
http://vystrcil.com
Scott Vystrcil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2006, 04:52 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
you can find component to analog VGA or DVI not too expensive.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2006, 04:57 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Vystrcil
I could be wrong, but I am not aware of a composite to component adapter. I jusr ordered this monitor from Dell as well. It should be here tomorrow. I am kicking myself for not spending the extra money for the 24in wide that actually has component inputs. With the resolution of the 24in, it would make a almost half-way decent field monitor for 1/5 the cost.
You can us composite out, and S video out, so you can have a monitor, but I was thinking there would be a composit to VGA or DVI adapter out there. I've seen DVI to composite, but not the other way, so far.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2006, 05:16 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Even if such a thing existed there would be no advantage since composite is rather poor quality standard definition. I think you'll be better of just monitoring in SD using the s-video connector, or look for a VGA to component adaptor.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2006, 05:21 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Boyd, my mistake, I meant component out to DVI or VGA. I was thinking DVI mainly, but Component to VGA would work. Is there such a think out there ?
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2006, 05:29 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giroud Francois
you can find component to analog VGA or DVI not too expensive.
I have not found an adapter that will do component (R, B, G) to DVI for input into a monitor. I have found thousands of DVI to component, but several sites actually say that they will not work in reverse. If I wanted to take my Z1 and output to a 20in LCD with a DVI input, is that possible?
__________________
Scott A. Vystrcil
Equipment - Sony HVR-Z1U--Firestore FS-4 Pro HD (40GB)--Cartoni Focus F101
Editing - Canopus Edius Pro 4, Intel Pentium D 940 (3.2 GHz), 2GB, 74GB SATA 10K, 160GB SATAII, 300GB SATA, nVidia GeForce 6800 (256MB), Dell 20 in widescreen flat panel (2007WFP)
http://watersedgefrisco.com
http://vystrcil.com
Scott Vystrcil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2006, 05:32 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
I have no experience with them, but just type "component video to vga adaptor" into Google and you get a bunch of hits, like:

http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/video-to-vga.html
http://www.myhometheater.homestead.com/vgacable.html
http://ps2modchip.com/VGAA.php
http://www.smarthome.com/777060.html

etc...
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2006, 05:35 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
component (R, B, G) to DVI:
first, i think component video from most camera is not RBG but YCbCr.
Second, If you type into google "components to DVI converter" you will find dozen of products in the very forst links. Most are priced around 300$.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2006, 05:41 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
I ve done same with Component to VGA, but they seem to be talking a lot about gaming applications, and not referring to HDV Cams.

Also, I've Google component to DVI, but will try again. Always in small print at the actual URL it is DVI to component....

I was just hoping someone here had some experience with it.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2006, 01:02 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Dell sells a "component to M1" cable to connect component sources to the "M1-DA" port of their 3400MP projector.

I *think* M1-DA port is basically a DVI port, but I saw somewhere a mention of "it accepts both digital and analogue signals" which is presumeably why the cable costs only $30 or so.

If the monitor has digital-only DVI, this post is probably of no help at all - sorry - but I just thought I'd mention it since it is a dell cable....
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2006, 03:42 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 142
http://www.cdw.com/shop/products/specs.aspx?EDC=809407
John McGinley is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:17 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network