Anyone using FX1 with firestore FS4?? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 8th, 2006, 03:57 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Anyone using FX1 with firestore FS4??

I posted that-I did a shoot Sat night with two FS 4's, one on my XL2 in Sd(worked fine all night), and the other on my new FX1 in hdv.The one on the FX1 crashed, and I couldn't get it working. I called Firestore, and they told me to trouble shoot first..
I tried both drives on both cameras. Neither drive works with the FX1, in SD or HDV. I also tried several cables.
My conclusion is it's the FX1, possibly the firewire plug, but who knows?
I had rented a Z1 last month, and it worked fine.
Ant ideas?
Disgusted and frustrated.
Bruce S. Yarock
P.S.- both FS4's were upgraded to hd by the guy I bought them from.
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2006, 11:05 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Update---
I tried capturing to the PC this morning, and it wouldn't even recognize the fx1 through the firewire.So I guess the problem is in the FX1.
Bruce Yarock
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2006, 08:47 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 32
Z1 with FS-4

I've tried to make either of my FS4' s work with my Z1 and it hasn't happened yet. I'm not sure what the problem is. Luckily, I don't need HDV on the firestore yet but if i did I'm not sure what I'd do. if ayone else knows I'd also like some pointers.
Justin McAleece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2006, 09:25 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Justin,
The two FS4's that I bought had been upgraded to hd. before buying the FX1,I rented a Z1 for a week end. The Z1 and the FS4 worked fine together,capturing in hdv (m2t files).
After trouble shooting, I realized that the problem is in the firewire section of my camera-the computer wouldn't even recognize the FX1. So after a nice hefty packing and insurance charge, my 2 week old FX1 is on its' way to the Sony service center.
Are your FS4's hd or sd?
Bruce S. Yarock
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2006, 09:40 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 755
I was in the same boat, except it was 3 days old. I recommend only using battery power to power your camera. AC adapter is a no no with this camera. I have had two of them go bad while on AC power.

Good luck, it took 4 weeks to get it back from Sony.

Jon
Jon Omiatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2006, 09:53 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Jon,
Thanks for the ac adapter tip. I was using battery when the FS4 (really the FX1's i-link) crashed. I had powered down the camera, then the FS4, in order to change tape. Is it ok to leave the FX1 powered on while changing tape?
Bruce Yarock
P.S.- that's not good news about Sony taking 4 weeks...
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2006, 12:53 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 45
Yup i've used both of my Fx-1s with the firestores fs-4 hd. One firestore is the pro model and the other is the standard model. I captured with both cameras in hd mode and they worked out fine. The only crash i've had so far is when I recorded in Time Lapse mode. After a power off and then back on though it worked out fine. Hope you get your fx1 back soon and that the problem is fixed!
Christopher Cruz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2006, 06:31 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Do you guys leave everything on 9camera an FS4) while changing tape?
Bruce Yarock
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2006, 12:14 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce S. Yarock
Do you guys leave everything on 9camera an FS4) while changing tape?
Bruce Yarock
I usually leave everything on (camera & fs4) when I change tape. I'll put the camera on standby and then open the tape door. The fs4 will continue to record (non-slave setting) but there will be a split second pause when the tape ejects and again when you insert the tape so just make sure you're not counting on the FS-4 too much to capture an event.
Christopher Cruz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2006, 09:22 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Christopher,
I usually use synchro slave mode. I wonder if the FS 4 will stay in record ready mode while I put the FX1 in standby...
Bruce Yarock
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2006, 06:40 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 45
Hi Bruce. Not sure if you already have the answer but in syncro slave mode, when you put the camera on standby the FS-4 will stay in record ready mode, and when you push record again on the FX-1 the FS-4 will start to record again. From my experiences, everytime I hit pause and record (in syncro slave mode), a new file was created on the FS-4. I'd prefer not to have a new file created but perhaps there is a setting or something I should be doing differently.
Christopher Cruz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2006, 08:16 AM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Chris,
Unfortunately, my new FX1 is being repaired, at a cost of $511 to me! Sony refuses to cover it ,even though it was new, in a sealed box, because I bought it from someone on Ebay. But that' another thread.
If and when I get it back, I'll experiment with both synchro and free modes.
Bruce Yarock
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:04 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network