Z1U On-Screen Display at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 8th, 2006, 04:43 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Devon, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 47
Z1U On-Screen Display

Greetings,

I have read through the manuals and have no success with this basic issue...

I am shooting HDV/DV (either one, it doesn't matter)
I am monitoring the shot on an SD monitor through the YC or CV outputs
I have turned on the display output to be on the LCD and the video ouput
The menu items show up on both the LCD and the monitor, but when I exit from the menu, the on-screen display (time code, audio levels, Safe areas, etc.) flashes on the CRT monitor and then goes away. The display continues to show on the LCD though.

Question - what am I missing that is stopping the OSD from showing up on the outboard monitor?

Thanks in advance!



Lance Spratt
Creative Visual Communication
__________________
Lance Spratt
Lance Spratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2006, 04:45 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 272
I would like to know the answer to this too.
__________________
B-Scene Films
Shaughan Flynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2006, 02:04 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Devon, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 47
Shaughan,

This is actually very annoying as it did function when I first received the camera. Now I'm not sure if this is a result of a menu setting that I have made, or a failure in the camera itself.

Of course, one would think it would be in the manual if it was a menu setting....

If nobody has any ideas, I may need to get it checked out by Sony and see what they say.



Cheers
__________________
Lance Spratt
Lance Spratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2006, 10:42 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posts: 292
Turn off the marker disaplay in the camera menu. That will give you back your other displays to send out. You can not have the safe areas displayed at the same time as the other information, timecode, etc.
Bob Willis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2006, 07:42 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Devon, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 47
Bob,

I appreciate your response. Its sometimes the small things that one overlooks that can make all the difference.


Thanks again for your help!
__________________
Lance Spratt
Lance Spratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2006, 11:46 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posts: 292
No Problem. I found this out while shooting a commercial in HD but trying to protect for 4:3 format. We had turned on the display to show the 4:3 marks and later realized we had lost the timecode feed to the videoassist monitor.
Bob Willis is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:45 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network