Rendered movie looks interlaced when there’s camera movement – help needed! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 12th, 2006, 03:44 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Britain
Posts: 30
Rendered movie looks interlaced when there’s camera movement – help needed!

Hi guys,

I have a FX1 and shot a wedding in SD, captured it in Premiere Pro 1.5 and rendered it out using the Adobe Media Encoder as the setting of PAL DV 4x3 High Quality 7MB CBR 1 Pass (although not sure if that’s is right) it looks fine on my two TVs & DVD players but not on the clients one? They say its grand when the camera is still but when it moves it looks all liney… interlaced I think.

I think the problem lies with the Adobe Media Encoder setting, could anyone pleases help me?

Thanks.
Andrew Goodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2006, 05:16 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 418
What sort of tv did your client view it on?
Joe Lawry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2006, 07:10 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Britain
Posts: 30
i am not sure, i will find out... would that make a differance? i mean do all tvs not display dvds the same? apart form pal & ntsc etc
Andrew Goodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2006, 07:28 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 418
interlaced footage on lcd tvs usually doesnt mix. LCDs only really display progressive footage well from what i understand, i may however be incorrect.
Joe Lawry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2006, 09:08 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 1,585
From what they describe, I would think you have made the common mistake of wrong field order in the encoding. Check your settings in the encoder to make sure you have chosen 'lower' field first. (although PAL is upper field first, both PAL and NTSC DV are lower field first). I don't use that encoder, so I don't know where in the interface you will see this option, but it should be in there somewhere.

When field order is wrong, the fields separate (because they have been reversed chronologically) which is more evident when there is motion in the frame.

Anyway, just choose lower field and re-encode. Hope that fixes it up for you.
__________________
.
http://www.nosmallroles.com
Vito DeFilippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2006, 05:43 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Britain
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vito DeFilippo
From what they describe, I would think you have made the common mistake of wrong field order in the encoding. Check your settings in the encoder to make sure you have chosen 'lower' field first.
you got it in one!... a mistake on my behalf, i thought it had to be something about the way i rendered it although just found it wired that it worked on some tvs but not on others. i did a test render and when i compared the two you could see the differance on the computer... so i have just started a new 9 hour render of it again.

their tv could be an lcd so that would maybe explain it, thanks again guys for the help!
Andrew Goodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2006, 06:59 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 1,585
Glad it worked out....
__________________
.
http://www.nosmallroles.com
Vito DeFilippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2006, 07:20 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Posts: 1,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Goodman
so i have just started a new 9 hour render of it again.
What do you render it with? In Premiere itself?

I am an Avid man, and I have had different experiences for the conversion, with different programs and different XP installations.


Carlos
Carlos E. Martinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2006, 11:12 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Britain
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos E. Martinez
What do you render it with? In Premiere itself?

I am an Avid man, and I have had different experiences for the conversion, with different programs and different XP installations.


Carlos
yeah just in premiere using the Adobe Media Encoder, works great... only it takes an age and a day!
Andrew Goodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2006, 11:22 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Posts: 1,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Goodman
yeah just in premiere using the Adobe Media Encoder, works great... only it takes an age and a day!
Can't you export to Sorenson Squeeze? Perhaps you can get shorter times.
Carlos E. Martinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 03:39 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Britain
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos E. Martinez
Can't you export to Sorenson Squeeze? Perhaps you can get shorter times.
i do have it but to be honest i have hardly looked at it... would the final render be as good as Adobe Media Encoder?

or (maybe this should be a different post) is there any other ways to quickin render times?... even hardware wise?
Andrew Goodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 03:44 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Britain
Posts: 30
oops... this was a double post, now deleted
Andrew Goodman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:07 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network