Regarding uncompressed capture from Z1 to FCP at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 27th, 2007, 12:43 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 272
Regarding uncompressed capture from Z1 to FCP

My wife recently decided it was time to upgrade the Mac so she ordered an 8 core Mac pro. After the arrival of this beast I decided to look into getting HD off of the Z1 and bypassing the HDV that it outputs from FW.

At the recent LAFCPUG meeting, Black Magic demoed their Intensity Pro card:

http://www.blackmagic-design.com/products/intensity/

So, in theory, I should be able to pop that into the Mac, attach the Z1 via component output and capture uncompressed, right?

If that is the case, what would I tell FCP it is capturing from? Normally I use the Z1 preset in the capture dialog for FCP to do this. Obviously whatever I choose will have to be sans device control.
__________________
B-Scene Films
Shaughan Flynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2007, 10:24 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 513
Well, sort of.

You would need a Component to HDMI converter as the Intensity card captures HDMI, not Component.

However, there are a few Component to HDMI converters on the market, and I'm going to eventually look into them and see if they work as I'm a Z1U owner as well.

Let me know if you find something that works.

Jim
James Huenergardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2007, 10:37 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Huenergardt View Post
Well, sort of.

You would need a Component to HDMI converter as the Intensity card captures HDMI, not Component.
It appears the Pro card DOES capture analog component so it should work. From their website: "HDMI and Analog Component switches between high definition and standard definition."
Geoff Dills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2007, 01:13 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
but again, if you are just playing back from tape, there is absolutely no interest of doing that, firewire is the same.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2007, 11:33 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 272
Understood - the capture would be live off of the camera. I understand that if I am playing back off of tape, the component output at that point is HDV and not uncompressed (same for FW obviously).
__________________
B-Scene Films
Shaughan Flynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2007, 12:37 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
since moving such a beast (the mac 8 core) to the field would be a bit adventurous, i would recommend to use a simple pc (a small cheap barebone like the Shuttle SD39P2) with just the intensity pro and some big disk (320 gig should be ok) inside.
you can build such machine for about 1200$.
Since Cineform will be available on PC and Mac, you can even use this to share the files between both OS.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2007, 02:12 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 272
Well this capture would occur only in my studio with the camera locked down on sticks. So my only downside there is making sure the resident klutzes do not trip over the umbilical.
__________________
B-Scene Films
Shaughan Flynn is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:08 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network