Sony Unveils HDR-FX1000 , HVR-Z5J - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 5th, 2008, 09:33 AM   #31
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: beijing/mississauga
Posts: 123
Too many new releases...so is this leaning towards being a new version of the V1 or Z1?
Colin Zhang is offline  
Old September 5th, 2008, 09:58 AM   #32
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 689
ha, my Sony rep just replied back to me and said it won't work without a Z5.
Scott Hayes is offline  
Old September 5th, 2008, 10:06 AM   #33
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rio de Janeiro, BR
Posts: 170
I'm really unimpressed with these releases feature-wise.

Same old, same old.

I read there's no real progressive. Why is that? I don't understand their passion with interlaced video. Canon consumer cameras have real progressive, right?

And the prices are through the roof, the FX7 was a good buy at $2500, this FX1000 should be no more than $3000, being already expensive at that.

I don't do weddings, events and such, my main interest is short movies and commercials, I thank god RED Scarlet showed up.
__________________
Pietro Impagliazzo
flickr.com/photos/impagliazzo
Pietro Impagliazzo is offline  
Old September 5th, 2008, 10:50 AM   #34
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Fry View Post
Why are people shedding tears because the new cams are CMOS, not CCD, and swearing to keep their CCD-fitted Z1s and FX1s for years and years? Are CCDs really so much better? I thought CMOS had a few advantages, like less smear from bright lights and greater exposure lattitude for clearer shadows, etc.
One thing I have noticed with the CMOS is problems with my DIY 35mm vibrating adapters. With my little HV20, I have had some shots get a wiggly jello effect. I am assuming this is related to rolling shutter, and a specific frequency of the vibrating screen. I don't see this occuring on my FX1.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline  
Old September 5th, 2008, 12:42 PM   #35
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 200
sony mattebox/filterholder

This new accessory caught my eyes. I can't tell if it's gonna be cool or gimmicky.
VCL-HG0872K??????????? | ePROSHOP : SYSTEM5

Looks like only one stage and doesn't rotate.
Min Lee is offline  
Old September 5th, 2008, 12:58 PM   #36
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Hayes View Post
ha, my Sony rep just replied back to me and said it won't work without a Z5.
Scott, did he give you a reason for this.
Besides the fact that they want you to buy a Z5.

Because if it is the same CF recorder that is being used with the Z7, then it will work with other cameras that have firewire.

Also if it won't work with anything else but a Z5, then how some the unit is being sold separately and before the release of the Z5 camera?

We can guess all we want, but it wouldn't be the first time that a rep didn't know what they were talking about. We'll just have to wait until these units come out.
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline  
Old September 5th, 2008, 01:28 PM   #37
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan C. King View Post
Brian a collegue of my has tried it and says it works but I need to call him and double make sure he was shooting hd
Really?!! Please do let me know what you find out from your friend. That would be fabulous news if that were true. This is one of the few Sony gadgets that looks to be MUCH, MUCH cheaper than the competition. Compare the street price of Sony's CF recorder to that of the Firestore FS-5 or the Edirol F-1. If it could do ProHD 720 24P, I'd be thrilled!
__________________
http://www.prolefeedstudios.com/blog/
Documentary for the masses!
Brian Standing is offline  
Old September 5th, 2008, 01:51 PM   #38
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Min Lee View Post
This new accessory caught my eyes. I can't tell if it's gonna be cool or gimmicky.
VCL-HG0872K??????????? | ePROSHOP : SYSTEM5

Looks like only one stage and doesn't rotate.
Yeah I can't tell if that's just a mattebox or it's a wide lens with a mattebox built in? The "0872" in the name makes me think it's an .8x 72mm, but I don't see much of an element.
Evan C. King is offline  
Old September 5th, 2008, 01:52 PM   #39
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 689
man, i know he wants to sell me a camera :-). I still want one, but I don't want to
give up CCDs. How will the recorder work? will it require a firewire cable on older
cameras? I wish someone had some closeup pictures of the connectors.
Scott Hayes is offline  
Old September 5th, 2008, 01:54 PM   #40
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Standing View Post
Really?!! Please do let me know what you find out from your friend. That would be fabulous news if that were true. This is one of the few Sony gadgets that looks to be MUCH, MUCH cheaper than the competition. Compare the street price of Sony's CF recorder to that of the Firestore FS-5 or the Edirol F-1. If it could do ProHD 720 24P, I'd be thrilled!
Yeah when I know for sure I'll drop you a line.
Evan C. King is offline  
Old September 5th, 2008, 02:04 PM   #41
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Hayes View Post
man, i know he wants to sell me a camera :-). I still want one, but I don't want to
give up CCDs. How will the recorder work? will it require a firewire cable on older
cameras? I wish someone had some closeup pictures of the connectors.
Looking at pictures of it here, it looks ALOT like the same CF recorder that the Z7 uses.

HVR-Z5J | •i• | HDV | ‰f‘œ‹@ | •‘—E‹–—p | ƒ\ƒj[

http://www.sony.jp/products/Professi...c1k/index.html

And as I said it is the same CF module, then it will work with recorders with firewire ports. As there are users that have been using the Z7 module with Canon A1/Sony FX1, with success in both SD and HDV.

And as I said in an earlier post, a Sony rep told me that they would be releasing the Z7 Cf recorder for public use, sometime n SEP-OCT area. Which would be right in the ballpark of when the Z5 CF recorder is slated for release.

Coincidence? You decide. =)
After all Sony will sell a TON of these units if they release them. It would probably turn out to be one of their most successful accessories EVER. And we all know that Sony loves to make money. Even at the expense of their own products.
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline  
Old September 5th, 2008, 02:21 PM   #42
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 689
on the sony cams, will you have to plug in an extra cable? will it mount to the battery
compartment like it does on the Z7? crap. I still want a new camera :-)
Scott Hayes is offline  
Old September 5th, 2008, 02:38 PM   #43
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Hayes View Post
ha, my Sony rep just replied back to me and said it won't work without a Z5.
Scott just by looking at it I can tell that it's the same piece. The only part of the name that has changed is the addition of the "K", which could be used only in japan anyway. Over hear it's called the MRC1.

It's two pieces the piece with the CF card slot hooks onto the back of the Z5 and Z7 and is powered by the cam. When using it on another camera you just put it on the included sled, put an L series battery on there and put it on a bracket that goes on your shoe mount (when I've used it I just used a longer cable and chucked it in a pocket) and you're off the races.

Remember the vast majority of hdv cameras are sony models so it makes no sense for them not to include the back piece and have it interface with only the Z5 and Z7, especially when the Z7 already ships with it. The back part also appears in the japanese pictures so it's all good!
Evan C. King is offline  
Old September 5th, 2008, 02:40 PM   #44
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Hayes View Post
on the sony cams, will you have to plug in an extra cable? will it mount to the battery
compartment like it does on the Z7? crap. I still want a new camera :-)
If it's like the Z7 module, then it will connect onto the back of the Z5 (like the Z7 does).

And on any other camera, whether it be Sony, Canon, JVC etc, you would have to mount the module onto any other camera via firewire and mount elsewhere, like on the handle via a handle bracket, velcro, whatever.
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline  
Old September 5th, 2008, 02:41 PM   #45
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 689
right, the back design of the Z5 and Z1 should be the same, so there should be no
reason to have to take up the hotshoe to mount it. IF that's not the case, it might
be worth the cost of a new camera just to avoid the hassle of being tethered to a device
hanging off the camera. That's a pain.
Scott Hayes is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:39 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network