Capturing 24P at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 11th, 2009, 11:56 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 12
Capturing 24P

I got the camera. Amazing upgrade from a A1U. I'm almost finish in learning how to use all manual menus; focus, wb, expousure, gain, etc. Now I'm learning how to capture 24p.

I use FCP. What I understand is that the camera dont record natively in 24p but do a scan mode and that after it is captured you have to do a reverse telecine (pulldown technique, I think is the name?) to remove the extra frames and have a real 24p.

I really don't know how I should capture the video correctly. All my life I have captured videos in final cut with a DV NTSC in wide and normal firewire. But I really want to do it correct this time. I think that if I capture it in DV NTSC I wont get real HDV and will not be able to do the pulldown proccess to get the 24p, is that correct?

Searching the internet I have read several opinions but I came across to options:

1) Setup FCP to Apple Intermediate Codec 1080i60, capture preset HVD-Apple Intermediate codec, Capture the video, and use reverse telecine.

2) Setup FCP to Apple ProRes 422, capture preset Apple ProRes 422, etc.

Where I read this, they talk about capturing HDV and capturing a 24 progressive scan file, but neither about the FX 1000 Camera.

So, you know more than me. Enlight me. What is the correct preset, proccess. Should I capture in HDV? DV? How do I get the 24p? What should be the iLink configuration in the camera (HDV? DV? AUTO?).

Thank you very much for the help and excuse my english, its not my first language.

PD. I tried both options up there but The final cut just says "Cueing Tape" and captures nothing. Thanks again.
John Nouel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2009, 01:32 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
iLink conversion set to off on cam when capturing footage. If it is on I believe it downconverts to SD.

I use Sony Vegas so I do not know what settings you should capture with on FCP. But it is true that the footage when coming from the camera is 60i, and the pulldown should be removed at some point. It doesn't HAVE to be removed, but if it is it will be easier to manage. It will also smooth out, I've heard. I captured 24p footage for one event and did not do pulldown removal (it was not a paid job) and it turned out fine. I have been advised to use Cineform Neo Scene to capture which will properly convert footage to 24p.

You might try posting in FCP forum for more details on using with FCP.

Good Luck!
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2009, 05:56 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 12
Thanks

I will try posting the same text on the FCP Forum. But one questino, I thought that the option of iLink conversion on the camara was just to activate the firewire port. For some reason the camera wasn´t recognized until I activated that option. Maybe the CUEING and there is no capture because the camera is downconverting to SD.

Have you seen a similar problem with camera recognition? Via what do you transfer your file? Firewire from camera or a separate deck?

Thanks again!
John Nouel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2009, 06:02 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
I do not mean to be short, but check your manual. That's what I would do. It is possible I am mistaken, that is just how I remember I have it set. I did look in the manual for you but couldn't find it, but it's in there, I've read it before.

If I am correct then the issue is your capturing settings are not correct in FCP, I suppose.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2009, 06:12 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 12
Yes

You´re right, there is information in the manual about iLink and capturing in HDV. I still have a problem with the camera recognition but I think is a FCP problem. Thanks again Jeff.
John Nouel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2009, 06:53 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
I'm pretty sure you are right, FCP is not recognizing the HD mode for some reason, don't think it is a setting on your cam that is causing you issues, but who knows?
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2009, 05:12 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 37
John I had the same issue with FCP. What I found out that if you have always captured in DV NTSC you have to go under the Final Cut Pro> Audio/Video Settings> and change them.

Sequence Preset-- I have set to HDV 1080i60
Capture Preset-- I have set to HDV
Device Control Preset--I have set to Sony HDV Firewire

After I changed those settings when I imported it worked.

Hope this helps...
-Marco
Marco Giordani is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:49 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network