Export settings for Exporting from CS4 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 10th, 2009, 11:54 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Consett UK
Posts: 108
Export settings for Exporting from CS4

Hi folks
I've just made my first HDV movie with my Z5. Can anyone tell me which settings would be good for exporting the movie for Vimeo or Youtube? My fist attempt produced a 950mb file for the 4 minute movie!

I will show of course show my level of camera skill (first shoot with the Z5, first editing with CS4) after I get the movie uploaded...

Thanks Billy
__________________
Billy Ellwood is on Vimeo. My film club www.newcastleaca.co.uk
i7 860, 16gb ram, Win 7 64bit, Premiere CS6, Z5 Sony, HDC-X900e cams.
William Ellwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2009, 12:56 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Veenendaal, Holland
Posts: 210
For YouTube I do not know, but for Vimeo:
H.264 codec, 24 fps, Data Rate 5000 kbits/sec, 1280x720 pixels, De-interlaced, Audio 44,100 kHz, 128 kbps.
Which can be found easily on Vimeo itself . . .
Jo Ouwejan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2009, 05:36 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Consett UK
Posts: 108
Thank you Jo.
I take it this is good for Pal. I'll have a play next time I am at the edit rig.
__________________
Billy Ellwood is on Vimeo. My film club www.newcastleaca.co.uk
i7 860, 16gb ram, Win 7 64bit, Premiere CS6, Z5 Sony, HDC-X900e cams.
William Ellwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2009, 02:05 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Veenendaal, Holland
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by William Ellwood View Post
Thank you Jo.
I take it this is good for Pal. I'll have a play next time I am at the edit rig.
Oops! I took you for someone from the US and that is why I specified 24 fps. And of course that should be 25 fps for PAL . . .
Jo Ouwejan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2009, 06:16 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Consett UK
Posts: 108
Well here is my first Vimeo HD export from Premiere CS4. It is at 5mbs, 1280x720, audio at 48k I think, and in PAL 25fps. It might be deinterlaced.

I didn't do the camera on this one.

Your Note Said It All on Vimeo
__________________
Billy Ellwood is on Vimeo. My film club www.newcastleaca.co.uk
i7 860, 16gb ram, Win 7 64bit, Premiere CS6, Z5 Sony, HDC-X900e cams.
William Ellwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2009, 09:51 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Veenendaal, Holland
Posts: 210
So you've lost some of your hair over the years, have you not?
Or is this the wrong remark at the proper time?
I got so confused . . .
Jo Ouwejan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2009, 01:29 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santa Fe, NM USA
Posts: 63
Nicely done!

What video bit-rate did you use on export?

Last edited by Bill Ackerman; March 24th, 2009 at 02:02 PM.
Bill Ackerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2009, 01:46 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: England
Posts: 27
great video........as it was your first video......did you film it in manual mode or auto?
Resham Singh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2009, 06:40 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Consett UK
Posts: 108
Thanks for the comments guys.

The settings on Premiere CS4 were: (and these are on the export settings box)
Note - I don't know how good these are or if they can be tuned better.

Format H.264
PAL 1280x720 pixels
25 FPS
Field order - none - Progressive
Pixel aspect ratio - square pixels
Profile - main
Level 3.1

Bitrate settings:
Bitrate encoding - VBR 1 pass
Target bitrate 5Mbps
Maximum bitrate 8Mbps

Audio AAC
Codec AAC
Stereo 48kHz
Audio quality - high
Bitrate 128kbps
Precedence - bitrate

Resham - the cam would have been in manual mode for everything.
__________________
Billy Ellwood is on Vimeo. My film club www.newcastleaca.co.uk
i7 860, 16gb ram, Win 7 64bit, Premiere CS6, Z5 Sony, HDC-X900e cams.
William Ellwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2009, 02:56 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santa Fe, NM USA
Posts: 63
I don't get it, Billy. Per the Vimeo FAQ, I use almost the same settings except for 24fps and level 4.1, but even if I change to exactly the same as you I get much, much bigger files. For example, I have a movie a little over a minute long that is probably a little more static than yours (hence more compressible). At your settings, it is over 40MB. The only way I seem to be able to cut it down to 5MB is to lower the bitrate to .5MBps. ?????
Bill Ackerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2009, 03:02 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Consett UK
Posts: 108
My 5 minute movie is 188mb Bill. I think the 5Mbps is the speed of data transfer, not the total filesize.
Cheers
__________________
Billy Ellwood is on Vimeo. My film club www.newcastleaca.co.uk
i7 860, 16gb ram, Win 7 64bit, Premiere CS6, Z5 Sony, HDC-X900e cams.
William Ellwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2009, 07:17 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santa Fe, NM USA
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by William Ellwood View Post
My 5 minute movie is 188mb Bill. I think the 5Mbps is the speed of data transfer, not the total filesize.
Cheers
My mistake. Thanks.
Bill Ackerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2009, 02:56 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Roma, Italy
Posts: 83
Does anyone know if these are the same settings for a 'plus' member (ie. paid up members get higher video quality).

Thanks,

Chris
Christopher Warwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2009, 04:38 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Consett UK
Posts: 108
The answer I think is yes - I doubt you get superior encoding extras just because you're a plus member, not in HD anyway. I've not looked at the fine print mind! I know you can upload as many hi def files you like etc... not just one a week.
I use HDV. I've set the audio freq to 44k to minimise any lip sync possibilities.

I'd like to see a guide for a little embellishement of the settings I've got to export to Vimeo from CS4.

Like Video, profile - baseline, main or high?
Like Video, level - 1 up to 5.1. Which is the best?
Like bitrate settings - CBR, VBR 1 or 2 pass?
Like target bitrate and max bitrate?
__________________
Billy Ellwood is on Vimeo. My film club www.newcastleaca.co.uk
i7 860, 16gb ram, Win 7 64bit, Premiere CS6, Z5 Sony, HDC-X900e cams.
William Ellwood is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:09 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network