CF change out time at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 27th, 2009, 04:36 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 393
CF change out time

How long does it take to start recording again when changing out a CF card? That is, stop recording, remove card, insert new card and begin recording again.
__________________
Bill
www.rankinimagery.com
Bill Rankin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2009, 05:47 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Plainview, N.Y.
Posts: 1,944
Bill, a bit of that is determined by the speed of your card as I've found out. I have 2 cards, one is a 133X and the other a 300X card. The 133X takes about the same time it would take to change out a tape...perhaps a bit longer as the card mounts and is read. The 300X card is closer to the actual time to change out a tape. Either way, it's no more than about 25 seconds.
Ken Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2009, 06:10 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 393
Thanks, Ken...I was hoping for a more instantaneous startup.
__________________
Bill
www.rankinimagery.com
Bill Rankin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2009, 06:28 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 640
Not only does it take a little while for the MRC1 to recognized the new card, you can't instantly remove the old card as soon as you press stop. It takes a little time taken for the CF card to finish recording the buffered information. It doesn't stop recording the instant you press stop.

Another related question. I haven't really read the Sony manual in detail but I know my Nikon D200 manual says you should turn the power off on your camera before removing a CF card. Does Sony say anything about powering down the MRC1 before swapping cards?
Greg Laves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2009, 08:48 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Plainview, N.Y.
Posts: 1,944
Greg, I think that's just good practice with any recording media...power down first before removing the media.
Ken Ross is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:30 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network