z5 Pal/Ntsc switchable??? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 7th, 2009, 05:57 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Guernsey , Channel Islands
Posts: 242
z5 Pal/Ntsc switchable???

Is there a function to swap between on this camera? I live in PAL land but have found a bargain in the States for this camera.
Luke Oliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 09:46 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dromara, Northern Ireland
Posts: 34
Hi. I recently purchased a Z5E - there is no PAL/NTSC option on the Z5E as standard - however, I did read somewhere that you can opt to have this as an additional extra. Not sure what the added cost is though.
James Curran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2009, 03:15 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 1,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke Oliver View Post
Is there a function to swap between on this camera? I live in PAL land but have found a bargain in the States for this camera.
Luke

You are looking for trouble if you buy an NTSC Z5 camera to use in Europe. Trust me, pay the extra money and get a proper PAL unit.

Check this site: Sony HVR-Z5E Professional HDV Camcorder - WTS Broadcast Limited

Stelios
__________________
My Blog: http://steliosc.blogspot.com
"I hope for nothing, I fear nothing, I am free" Nikos Kazantzakis
Stelios Christofides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 8th, 2009, 06:59 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 132
Yes, it is possible. I have contacted my local SONY tech support with this question (to make my Z5U switchable NTSC-PAL). They replied me with quote $300.00.

Have anyone ever did it. And how does it work, if so?
Alex Khachatryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2009, 12:53 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billericay, England UK
Posts: 4,711
It's menu switchable on the Z1 so it sounds like a cool way for dealers to make $300 on the Z5
Tom Hardwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2009, 02:34 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 937
Tom Hardwick -
"It's menu switchable on the Z1 so it sounds like a cool way for dealers to make $300 on the Z5"

I think only Sony will do the upgrade, so your local dealer probably can't be doing the upgrade for some quick cash.

From what I've heard is that on the Z1 it is software that switches the NTSC / PAL, so the quality isn't exactly the best. (Just like the "frame / progressive" modes on the Z1.)

On the Z7/Z5 I have heard that it is more of a hardware upgrade, meaning if pay for the upgrade you should have better quality recording on these than the Z1.
__________________
Nothing says you're a serious video maker like S-VHS
Zach Love is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network