iMovie doesn't import from FX1000 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 6th, 2009, 05:40 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Plymouth, Idaho
Posts: 8
iMovie doesn't import from FX1000

Hello:

I've searched all eight pages of the FX1000 forum and tried some searches. I need advice and frankly, this has really upset me big time.

I recently bought a used camera (from a DVinfo member).

Today, I'm trying some simple editing (iMovie 7.1.4) on my iMac computer (OSX 10.5.4). The computer recognizes the firewire and controls the camera, ( rewind, stop, play), but... it's not importing!

I tried an old camera I have and iMovie imports.

What is going on? Why does my iMovie only recognize the camera to a point, but won't import?

I mentioned that I'm upset. I'm worried.

I need some help.

Thank you,
Lee Saylor
Lee Saylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2009, 08:32 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 46
Interesting. I don't see see HDR-FX1000 on Apple's hardware compatibility list for either iMovie '08 or iMovie '09. The list seems to be missing quite a few HD models.

I see the FX1000 is listed for Final Cut Pro 7.0.x

Is the other camera that you tested an HD camera using the same format?
John Gayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2009, 11:49 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Plymouth, Idaho
Posts: 8
John:

Man, you may have hit right on it.

It never entered my mind that I may have to upgrade to the FCP. I bet that's what the problem is.

No, the older camera isn't HD.

I'm going to check with Apple Tuesday and see if they can shed some light.

But hey, thank you very much. I really appreciate your response.

Lee saylor
Lee Saylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2009, 12:20 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
If it imports from the non-HD cam but not the HDV cam (presuming the FX1000 is in HDV mode) then you may have a wrong preset in iMovie. Make sure everything is set to HDV in both iMovie and the cam if that's what you shot and are trying to import.

This is almost always the cause of the problem you describe.

Last edited by Adam Gold; September 7th, 2009 at 02:22 PM.
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2009, 05:44 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 161
We use iMovie 6 for a lot of quick-and-dirty editing, and iMovie 6 won't import from my Z1U if it is in down-convert mode. It will import if recorded in DV mode, and will import and transcode to AIC if recorded in HDV mode, but iMovie 6 insists on switching to a HD format if the recording is in HDV, even if the output coming from Firewire is in DV. Very annoying.

I never tried anything with iMovie 7 or later, but maybe it's doing the same thing with your FX1000 footage?

-Terence
Terence Murphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2009, 08:50 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Mays Landing NJ USA
Posts: 24
Import into Imovie

I have the FX-1000 and A new MacBook 13 inch.... Thought I had the same problem..

MAKE SURE YOU START A New Project before you start the import...

Bet ya it'll work now!

(make sure your using the latest MAX Operating system!
Rod Bourne is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network