FX1000 & Premiere at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 21st, 2009, 03:06 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Hollywood, California
Posts: 19
FX1000 & Premiere

hey everyone!
So I'm working on my first music video with my FX1000 on Sunday and I am very excited!
The video is actually for my band (10zero)

I did some test shooting today at the location because I noticed it was a little dark in there and just as I suspected the camera made the room look a lot brighter but I also got this grainy look.. like little tiny dots were jumping all over the place.
I thought i would go to Home Depot and pick up some lights. They are pretty nice and only ran me $6 each. I think they are on sale or something. ANYWAY
in my video there will be a bunch of amazing kids break dancing! and I mean these kids are amazing! I will post my video up here when I'm done.

my question is... do you guys think I should shoot it at 24p or 30p?
I'm in the middle of encoding the test footage now and maybe I'll even upload that too later on.

I know these kids are really fast doing headspins and stuff (You'll see) so I wanted to make sure I get the better frame rate to record them on.

also I noticed on premiere there is no preset for 1080i 24p SCAN there are things like 1081 25.??? or 1080i 29.???

should I go into the settings and try to change it to match my cameras 1080i 24p?
if so, any tips?

Thanks and I'll be sure to upload the test footage later! :)
Luie Dalmasy Jr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2009, 06:58 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
30p, not 24p. Keep your camera steady as possible with 30p, on a tripod whenever possible.

Go to camera menu to AGC setting and limit your gain to 12dB to get rid of the grain.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2009, 10:59 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
For fast motion you should be shooting 60i.
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2009, 11:51 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
I agree with Adam, but you didn't ask about 60i, you asked about 24p and 30p. 30p is the lesser of the two evils.

For the web you can process 60i to progressive, not a big deal.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2009, 12:22 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Hollywood, California
Posts: 19
ohh

you guys are the best!
Ok so my video with the really slow moving things I'll shoot on 30p
and for the quick break dancing kids I'll shoot on 60i

but I'm also having an issue with premiere. i can't find my exact camera setting for capturing or exporting...
Luie Dalmasy Jr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2009, 12:25 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Hollywood, California
Posts: 19
1

1 more thing... when would i use 24p?
Luie Dalmasy Jr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2009, 07:35 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,942
"1 more thing... when would i use 24p? "

When you want to transfer to film.

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2009, 01:43 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
...which for most people means "never."

Don't shoot 30p on the same video as 60i. There's no reason to, no benefit at all, and it may make Premiere throw up. Just shoot 60i and use the 1440 x 1080 60i preset in Premiere. Make your life as easy as possible while editing, and then if you really want to, you can deinterlace the whole thing on export. But really, there's no reason to do this either, unless you really like the look.
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2009, 08:52 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Hollywood, California
Posts: 19
.

lol Ok so I'll stick with not shooting in 24 or 30p for now.
So when capturing is this good?

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2786/...640078f8_o.png
Luie Dalmasy Jr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2009, 11:56 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Yep. That's the one.
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 02:01 AM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Hollywood, California
Posts: 19
Hey

thanks a lot Adam. I just shot something in Low light and it was looking really crazy on my computer screen... I got all of these lines across the screen when anything moved (Not sure what this is called) and then I even got this waving looking effect like I was shooting under water lol

I linked the footage over to Encore and burned a DVD and it looked much better... not as sharp as I was hoping for though
Luie Dalmasy Jr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 12:35 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 425
Might be your graphics card. Have you edited HDV prior to the FX1000?
Rob Morse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 01:57 PM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Hollywood, California
Posts: 19
.

yea you know I was thinking that.
No I have not.
I have a macbook pro

13-inch: 2.26GHz
Intel Core 2 Duo
2GB Memory
NVIDIA GeForce 9400M graphics

I'm going to get 4GB of ram next month.

So if my graphics card is not good enough will this effect the output to another source like DVD or is it only going to effects the way it shows up on my screen?
Luie Dalmasy Jr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 02:12 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Neither Premiere nor Encore uses your graphics card for much of anything other than display. It won't affect your DVDs. But your card should be fine.

The effects you are describing might just be a limitation of your monitor. HDV is meant to be displayed on HDTVs, not PC monitors. But can't know for sure unless we see it.

You do know that DVDs are not Hi Def, right? So they won't be as sharp as what you shot?
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 07:59 PM   #15
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Hollywood, California
Posts: 19
yea

Yea Adam it's kind of dumb lol I'm trying to figure out the best way to output my films. I think DVD would have to be the best for now. but I mean... why bother shooting in HD then. Future proof? ... I donno
Luie Dalmasy Jr. is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:53 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network