Please reinsert the tape at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 5th, 2009, 12:16 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Hollywood, California
Posts: 19
Please reinsert the tape

This keeps coming up when I try to load up a take
so I put in another tape and it worked then I went back to the tape that was giving me the error and it was working fine.

So I was able to get my footage off of the tape.
I was wondering if any of you had this problem and could it be the take?

I am using Fujifilm tape but I don't think they are really all that good. I just needed something last minute and thats all that was at the store
Luie Dalmasy Jr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2009, 01:25 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
If you switched brands without cleaning in between, it's possible the new tape uses a different lubricant than your prior one and it may have gummed up the heads a bit. Standard advice is to stick to one kind of tape if possible and if you do switch, clean before and after.
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2009, 02:23 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Auburn, Washington
Posts: 231
Looks like an intermittent problem. Try cleaning the contact, the four holes beside the switch at the back of the tape.
__________________
Sony Z7U, Canon 5D Mark II, Canon 24-105 F4L, Canon 70-200 F2.8L, Canon 580 EXII, Zoom H2.
Jun Galinato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2009, 06:32 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Gold View Post
If you switched brands without cleaning in between, it's possible the new tape uses a different lubricant than your prior one and it may have gummed up the heads a bit. Standard advice is to stick to one kind of tape if possible and if you do switch, clean before and after.
Tape lubricant would have nothing to do with the error the OP was seeing. Lubricant issues simply clogs the heads. I have seen this once or twice with my VX-2100. It is quite alarming when it happens. Like you, I later tried the same tape and it was fine.

Does anyone know exactly what has to happen within the tape mechanics to generate this error?
John Gayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2009, 06:35 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jun Galinato View Post
Looks like an intermittent problem. Try cleaning the contact, the four holes beside the switch at the back of the tape.
Aren't those contacts only used if you have the Sony tapes with the memory chip inside? I tried one of those when I first bought my VX-2000 and didn't see any advantage to them (and the extra cost) so I stuck with standard non-chip tapes. On all my Sony DV tape those four holes are filled with plastic as opposed to gold contacts.
John Gayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2009, 02:34 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Gayman View Post
Tape lubricant would have nothing to do with the error the OP was seeing. Lubricant issues simply clogs the heads.
Maybe yes, maybe no. Seems to me it could affect the entire tape path, but you may be right.
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2009, 08:25 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Auburn, Washington
Posts: 231
I have a PD170 before acting like that. Looks like an intermittent tape mechanism, posible motor getting weak, or rubber belt getting loose, who knows.

Jun
__________________
Sony Z7U, Canon 5D Mark II, Canon 24-105 F4L, Canon 70-200 F2.8L, Canon 580 EXII, Zoom H2.
Jun Galinato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2009, 09:47 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 364
I've had some tape messages on my VX2000 when in humid environments, and I've had what must have been a bad tape once that kept giving me an error. I finally put in a new tape and message never came back.
__________________
Mark Goodsell
Mark Goodsell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2009, 12:37 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
had it a couple of times with my 170, but used to get something similar with my 300sp rig - usually a slack wound tape (ampex always seemed to cause this).
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:27 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network