Z5 Captures issues at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 6th, 2009, 04:39 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 97
Z5 Captures issues

Hi all,

Ok i have a sony HVR z5P and a i had a guy helping me shoot a wedding with a Sony Z7..

Now the issues is i put the tapes that the guy with the Sony Z7 recorded into my Z5 and i keep getting a

"No output image in the VCR" HDV/DV change format??"

When i press play the camera shoots from HDV in and when i press play DVin really quickly and then says the above error message??

So i kinda lost i tried to change the settings on the camera and i paid this guy $600 for the day... and he gave me 5 tapes that he took. The footage from the tapes can be seen on my z5 but i cant captures it?.... Im thinking that he had it recored in DV not HD....

If it doesnt work its $600 down the drain paying the guy.........


thanks
jason

Last edited by Jason Selmes; December 6th, 2009 at 04:42 AM. Reason: changes
Jason Selmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2009, 04:49 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 97
ok it turns out the guy recorded in DV format!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! dammit i pay good money to record in HDV and he provides this shit!!!!!!

When i playing the footage on my Z5 is says DVin and DVout when playing... GRRRRRRRRRR

ok how do i capture the DV footage that this guy captured on his Z7?
Jason Selmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2009, 04:56 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 97
OK.

The guy has captured in DV format. SHIT!!! what is the best way i can fix this? Im so annoyed right now....

I just finished capturing the DV format footage from what the other camerman shot. What are my options in regard to my HDV footage and the DV footage that the other guy supplied?

Last edited by Jason Selmes; December 6th, 2009 at 05:40 AM.
Jason Selmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2009, 07:10 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 1,080
Jason,
Relax. Capturing with the Z5 in DV is not the end of the world. What you can do is to downconvert the HDV that you captured with the Z7 in DV while you importing it to your editing software and then you have the DV format of the Z5 the converted DV format of the Z7 and burn the combined edited result in DVD. The result is excellent!!! I have done this several times with my Z5 and FX7.

Stelios
__________________
My Blog: http://steliosc.blogspot.com
"I hope for nothing, I fear nothing, I am free" Nikos Kazantzakis
Stelios Christofides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2009, 08:45 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 97
I know i was starting to panic wondering what i was going to do. I checked out another thread that tells me what to do. Hmm i guess ill have to recapture my footage from my camera to DV....

hmmm more time waste... lol........ oh well atleast its not all lost
Jason Selmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2009, 03:25 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stelios Christofides View Post
Jason,
Relax. Capturing with the Z5 in DV is not the end of the world. What you can do is to downconvert the HDV that you captured with the Z7 in DV while you importing it to your editing software and then you have the DV format of the Z5 the converted DV format of the Z7 and burn the combined edited result in DVD. The result is excellent!!! I have done this several times with my Z5 and FX7.

Stelios
Stelios i can still render to 16:9 for dvd cant i when im done?

thanks

Jason
Jason Selmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2009, 12:26 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 73
Jason,

Your frustration could have been avoided with some communication ahead of time. You know this now obviously. When I hire help, all of them get a shoot sheet on which production parameters are listed including:

Description of shoot, shoot title and shoot designator (this is what they'll invoice against)
Call date and time
Location of shoot including directions, map, and even parking suggestions and exact point to rally
What the contractor should bring and what I, as producer bring. (e.g., camera operator brings own camera and tripod, I bring lighting, etc.)
Type of camera and format used including resolution and frame rate.
Expected duration of shoot and whether craft services are provided or french hours.
Deliverable parameters including real and virtual product (tapes, disks, hardware, or .ftp)

There are always too many unknowns and chances for goof ups but at least the basics are not assumed, I've yet to run into a glitch operationally in this area. Good luck on the next shoot.

Dave Burckhard
PicturePoint On-line
Dave Burckhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2009, 01:26 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 1,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Selmes View Post
Stelios i can still render to 16:9 for dvd cant i when im done?

thanks

Jason
Ofcourse you can. I always shoot in DV mode 16:9 and my DVDs look awesome!!!

Stelios
__________________
My Blog: http://steliosc.blogspot.com
"I hope for nothing, I fear nothing, I am free" Nikos Kazantzakis
Stelios Christofides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2009, 02:32 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Selmes View Post
i guess ill have to recapture my footage from my camera to DV....
No, you can just downconvert it in your NLE... or depending on your editor, you may be able to just throw it into the timeline and tell it to "interpret footage" into the right format. No worries.

It's annoying I know, and you always want to maintain the best quality for as long as possible, but if you're only going out to DVD you'd have had to down convert it at some point anyway.
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2009, 03:20 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 97
Hi Adam and friends thanks for the replies.

Adam, Do i output to 16:9 after my project is finished and ready to go to DVD? It seems the DV footage is 6:4 off the camera that I captured last night. As far as ive read this is normal for SD footage. Is this true?

Funny thing is Ive only done Blue ray stuff and not much DVD so no real need to downvonvert etc.

Plus ive never really done much SD 6:4 stuff so to get this stuf in widescreen should I do it once the final product is ready to render and burn to DVD?

thanks guys
Jason Selmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2009, 03:35 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Do you mean the DV stuff is 4:3? That will be a problem. I thought he shot DV 16:9. You might have to edge crop your 16:9 HDV footage to match, because if you letterbox his stuff it'll look really bad. You'll take a huge resolution hit.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2009, 04:50 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 97
Well it seems as i have captured it off the tapes as 4:3 as the box looks squished... It sure is looks to be the way its coming off the tape....
hmmm i might check out my premiere pro settings and see if i can project it to widescreen............ hmmmmm

Then again maybe because its squished to 4:3 it may be the way im capturing it? im going to go home and test it...
Jason Selmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2009, 06:33 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Gold View Post
Do you mean the DV stuff is 4:3? That will be a problem. I thought he shot DV 16:9. You might have to edge crop your 16:9 HDV footage to match, because if you letterbox his stuff it'll look really bad. You'll take a huge resolution hit.
Hi adam

Yeah i just got home and in the capture window it looks 4:3 i should say.... should it be showing widescreen in the capture window? Even my HDV footage down converted to DV is looking 4:3 in the capture window. When i play it with KM player it also it not showing widescreen but 4:3??

shit im confused now :)
Jason Selmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2009, 06:35 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
If it's squished, it's 16:9 made to fit the 4:3 frame. No problem; you can easily un-squish it.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2009, 07:13 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 97
Thanks Adam,

Ok..

Its weird because when i run the AVI file on mt desktop KM player the quality seems quite poor yet the file is 12gb roughly for 1 hour worth of tape. Is this normal or will it be fine when i render it?

It just seems SD quality is shit or is it im doing something wrong? I dont know what i could be doing wrong because throw the tape in log it and capture it... what else is there?

When i play the file i seems to be getting horizontal lines especially when the subject moves suddenly or at all to be honest.... im lost here
Jason Selmes is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:57 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network