Firewire problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 27th, 2010, 08:18 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
Firewire problem

Good evening,


For some reason of late neither of my computers beep on when I plug in the fire wire to capture. I have tested my computer and it will read both of my canons I tested. Just says no device connected.

I dug out my old digital 8 camcorder from the dark ages and will not read it either.


Any ideas out there among you ???


Thanks,

Dale Guthormsen
__________________
DATS ALL FOLKS
Dale W. Guthormsen
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2010, 02:45 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Veenendaal, Holland
Posts: 210
Dale,

You might have a fired FW . . . This may (does not happen always) have happened, when you plug in in hot. It happened to me once. Since then I always follow the advice to turn off the PC as well as the camcorder, when connecting or disconnecting.
It could be the FW of the cam or the FW of your PC that fried. Or it could only be the cable that's gone bad.
Find out which it is, by trying a different cable or another pc. I understand, that you already tried another cam and as this did not show an improvement, go try the other two possibilities.

Jo
Jo Ouwejan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2010, 09:59 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
If you have other firewire devices plugged in, disconnect them, see if that helps Dale.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2010, 10:28 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 17
What type of computer and OS are you trying to connect to?

I run into the same issues using iMac running SnowLeopard 10.6.2
Steven Feinstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2010, 01:09 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
Thanks everyone,

I did have a fire wire issue, solved it but stil had issues.

Unquestionably the firewire port is nonfunctional in my new camera. I have two jobs in the next few weeks that require two hd cameras, will shoot 60 i and down load through the canon, then off to sony for a fix!! Bit frustrating!

I may have inadvertantly hot plugged, a practice I avoid as a rule.



thanks,

dale
__________________
DATS ALL FOLKS
Dale W. Guthormsen
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2010, 04:21 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Veenendaal, Holland
Posts: 210
Join the club . . . not to be proud of a membership, by the way.
Jo Ouwejan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:24 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network