Z5u $2400 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 5th, 2010, 01:39 PM   #1
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: ocean city maryland
Posts: 1
Z5u $2400

Does anyone have experience with "total pro digital.com"? They are advertising brand new sony hvr z5u for $2409. Seems too good to be true.
Jim Hughes is offline  
Old March 5th, 2010, 02:17 PM   #2
Regular Crew
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 134
Google its name. Looks like a scam to me.
Alex Khachatryan is offline  
Old March 5th, 2010, 03:02 PM   #3
Inner Circle
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,466
Check Reseller Ratings. There's no way a reputable dealer can sell a new Z5 with warranty for that price.
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline  
Old March 5th, 2010, 05:38 PM   #4
Inner Circle
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Many of the "super low price" outfits don't offer all that is normally included in the package, they take things out, then try to ell them to you at greatly inflated prices, or they suddenly realize they don't have the camera in stock if you insist that you don't want those items, or the cameras could be gray market which means no mfg. warranty anyway.

While I realize that places like B&H and TexasTapeWorks might be more expensive that the advertised prices of some of these low priced options at least you know who you're buying from, that you'll get what you pay for and what's supposed to be in the box and that you'll have very good customer service should you need it.

My recommondation is to stick with the known vendors many of whom are sponsors of this site and not only support it but participate in it.

While it's tempting, the old saying "that if it seems to good to be true, it usually is" is usually true.
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don Bloom is offline  
Old March 5th, 2010, 08:14 PM   #5
Major Player
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 759
On ResellerRatings.com, this is what I found:

Total Pro Digital - totalprodigital.com - Reviews, Ratings and Prices at ResellerRatings

I would pass. YMMV.
Bill Koehler is offline  
Old March 5th, 2010, 08:24 PM   #6
Obstreperous Rex
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 27,051
Images: 513
On this site, we refer all where-to-buy questions to our
trusted site sponsors -- see the dealer text ads below.

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:04 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network