Dropouts!!! - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 1st, 2010, 07:49 PM   #16
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 54
I gotta say that it doesn't make any sense to test a new camera with a used tape. obviously there's a problem with the camera, but you'll never know if it was that way to begin with or whether there was something physical or otherwise on that tape which messed it up. I've found all HDV cameras to be rather free of dropouts. the only serious problem I had was with a rented Z7. recording to file is great... charlie
Charlie Steiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2010, 07:56 AM   #17
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Piraeus Greece
Posts: 28
I am transferring a tape to the pc right now and i have 4 dropouts in the first 45min of the tape.... :(
Stefanos Lampridis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2010, 08:32 AM   #18
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
new (if so which brand)?

if used, well.....
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2010, 08:38 AM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Piraeus Greece
Posts: 28
Always NEW tape, Sony Premium
Stefanos Lampridis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2010, 06:24 PM   #20
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
maybe dumb question, but what environment are you shooting in? dusty?

have you tried blowing out the tape compartment with 'dry' compressed air (CAREFULLY!).

have you tried a tape from a completely different batch?

sorry can't be of more help....
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2010, 03:14 PM   #21
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Piraeus Greece
Posts: 28
You are helping! ;)

No, i have not tried that.
Shooting locations are dust free.

Maybe i should mention that the program (Vegas 8) does not refer to dropouts when i transfer. Dropped frames remains ZERO. (according to the program that is)
But what is happening is that a new file is created when this happens although scene detection is OFF
Fail on dropped frames is OFF

But instead of me ending up with a file per tape file, i end up with multiple.

When this is happening the Z5 monitor goes blue and the sound of the event stops.

So i guess that IS a dropped frame...
Stefanos Lampridis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2010, 06:50 PM   #22
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
if the camera's going blue, then it's certainly at that end of the chain - as you rightly pointed out.

as it seems to be random, 4 in one tape(?), i'm at a loss as to what to suggest, other than a quick blow job, followed by a service if the problem remains....

good luck with it.....
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2010, 07:13 PM   #23
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Are these dropouts in the middle of a continuous shot or at the start and stop points of a shot? If the latter, make sure QUICK RECORD is off.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leslie Wand View Post
...i'm at a loss as to what to suggest, other than a quick blow job, followed by a service if the problem remains....
Les, you may wish to take a quick look at American vernacular and possibly edit. Although I think that's a great plan until one finds a solution.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2010, 08:45 PM   #24
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
opps.... but it really would be a quick one ;-)

adam's point about position of drop-outs is also very pertinent. where are they?
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2010, 08:59 PM   #25
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,940
Stephanos, I have had this happen a few times with my FX1 using Vegas Pro 8, 32bit. I then switched to the 64 bit version to capture and the issue went away but the 64 bit version cannot show a preview when it captures. I assumed that the issue was then one of my computer and its display during capture. From that point on I always used the 64 bit version to capture and have had no problems since but now am tapeless with the NX5U.
Try Vegas 8.1 or Vegas Pro 9 64 bit version and see if the issue goes away.
Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2010, 11:06 PM   #26
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
further to ron's suggestion - you can always download hdvsplit and try that as well (it's 32bit). i used to use it quite regularly when i didn't have vegas on my laptop...
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2010, 03:16 AM   #27
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Piraeus Greece
Posts: 28
i have dropouts even if the camera it's previewing on it's own, or on a TV set.
Interesting thing tho is that they are not (not always at least) in the same place every time. (i.e. if i re-view a piece with a dropout it *might* not be there next time...

BTW Vegas is 9 64bit. sorry, i misspelled before...

Yes, i may have 2 to 6 dropouts at one tape in various spots.

The batch of tapes must not be an issue because i have this problem since the i bought the camera (16 months now)


I usually transfer my tapes through a Sony HDR-HC9E, but the concerts are in 25p and HC9 does not read it, so i transfer them through the Z5 directly.
Could the problem be just on the reading head/s and not in the actual recording ones? (If we assume that they are separated.)

Last edited by Stefanos Lampridis; June 4th, 2010 at 12:57 PM.
Stefanos Lampridis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2010, 07:59 PM   #28
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 364
This thread is 3 months old. Denny, if you're still around here, did you send your cam back? How did you resolve the issue?
__________________
Mark Goodsell
Mark Goodsell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:48 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network