Input problems with Sony HVR-Z5's iLink at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 22nd, 2010, 09:58 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Barcelona/Lisbon
Posts: 5
Input problems with Sony HVR-Z5's iLink

Hi everyone!
I'm having trouble recording to tape from both Premiere CS4 and Vegas Pro.
I want to record a DV file to tape using the camera's iLink input.
I encounter various problems (because they never come alone, of course...).

The first one happens on a PC, with both Premiere CS4 and Vegas Pro:
Recording starts fine, after a few seconds the camera's screen turns blue for a couple of seconds and flickers a bit.
The tape records blue whenever this happens.
No idea what's going on, but the fact that this happens with two different softwares (which do not assume they've dropped frames) led to believe it might have something to do with the iLink.

I then decided to try it on a Mac with Premiere CS4.
I didn't even get as far as recording.
When I connect it to the computer the camera starts going wild, as if it didn't know if it should be in "IN" mode or "OUT" mode.
It starts flickering from one to the other. This kinda freaked me out after reading about a lot of people who allegedly burned their connections...
This might have something to do with the cable or the fact that the connection on the Mac is Firewire 800 and the camera is a 4 pin 400.

I'm completely lost here...
Any ideas?

Of course I could have a DVCAM copy made in some digital lab, but they charge A LOT of money for something that I supposedly already have in the camera, a DVCAM recorder.
Nuno Pessoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2010, 05:56 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
i presume you've tried different cables?
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2010, 07:53 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Barcelona/Lisbon
Posts: 5
Um...
I just assumed that if I didn't have a problem capturing from the camera to the NLE, it should be working the other way around...
And I used different cables on both the Mac and the PC.
One 4pin/4pin on the PC, and one 4pin/9pin on the Mac.
I suppose I should try different cables anyway.
Nuno Pessoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2010, 09:50 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Hi Nuno............

Do a test for me, please?

Try recording this file (or part thereof, same part each time) to the camera on four seperate occasions, one after the other, alternating between the two softwares.

Does the video blip out in exactly the same place each time?

If NO, then it could be a cable problem or something else entirely.

If YES I'd hazzard it's a content problem with the file itself, mixed data types or some other furphy that the camera simply isn't in the correct mode for.

A further test would be to shoot a short clip (any standard you like), ingest into the pc, put a clean tape in the camera and write it back out again, unaltered.

If it blips out, it isn't a standards problem and the hunt will be on in earnest for the real culprit.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2010, 10:12 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
following on from chris's advice.

if it's flaking out at the same spot each time it's definitely a fault on the tl.

when i was printing back to tape from dv i ALWAYS rendered my tl to a new file and then printed from that. you never know what's lurking in the tl, whether a flaky dissolve or bad graphics.

leslie
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2010, 07:50 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Barcelona/Lisbon
Posts: 5
Hi again everyone!
I ended up having the copy made at a video lab.
The blip out occurred in different places at every try and I couldn't get it solved in time.

There is one problem that still persists though, and it has made itself more relevant than the original one.
I still have problems with the iLink connection to the Mac.
I can't get it to connect properly, so that means can't capture to Final Cut Pro.
Ive tried to connect the camera in play as someone suggested and tried to capture with FCP.
The camera doesn't change input/output mode, but it flashes on and off.
FCP doesn't connect to the camera. It says it can't find any device.

The camera works fine on a PC with a 4 pin/4 pin firewire cable.
So I'm pretty sure it's not a hardware problem in the cam.
I use it every other day to capture footage.

The problem is, FCP doesn't recognize M2T footage, so I can't use my previous captures made on the PC.
I have a converter, but it takes forever to convert the footage and I'm not really sure if it is doing it's job 100% right.

Is it the cable?
I mean, apart from the possibility that a brand new cable doesn't work (I'll check that just in case), could there be any reason for this to happen?

Thank you all for the tips!!
Nuno Pessoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2010, 04:20 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
Why not simply rewrap the mt2 files in a .mov wrapper using ClipWrap.

Works great, try it out.
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:49 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network