Settings on the Z5U at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 11th, 2010, 01:45 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Worthington, Iowa
Posts: 191
Settings on the Z5U

I posted this question in the audio section and no one had any recommendations except to post my question here. I need some recommendtions on Audio settings on my Input 1 which is my stock mic, and Input 2 which is my Sony Wireless. Here is my question,
Hey, just recieved my Sony wireless mics and have tried to read their very confusing manual to try to configure these mics to produce the best possible audio and am not having much luck. I have them hooked up to a Sony z5u but am not sure of quite of a few things, like in camera and on the mics.
I have the wireless plugged into XLR 2, and the shotgun in XLR 1
1. Have XLR AGC Link on Seperate
2. AU. Man Gain on Seperate
3. Input 1 Mic NR Off.
4. Input 1 trim off
5. Input 1 wind off
6. Input2 MIC NR off.
7. Input2 Trim(?) Off
8. INPUT2 Wind off

I am also curious why when I use the onboard mic and the shotgun mic and drag it onto my timeline in remiere pro cs4 it only show one audio track? Is there a setting there i am missing in camera or in Premiere Pro?
__________________
Jeff Mayne
Gone Thinkin Outdoors

Last edited by Jeff Mayne; May 11th, 2010 at 06:12 PM. Reason: retardation
Jeff Mayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2010, 11:58 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 425
Internally, the settings look good. I can't tell you why Premiere isn't seeing both audio channels, as I don't use that NLE. Are you using the correct settings on the outside of the camera? Are you having a problem with the audio other than that?
Rob Morse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2010, 12:34 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Premiere is showing one track or one channel? They're different. Premiere should be showing one track with two channels.

I think I saw a response in your other thread about how to break that out into two mono tracks.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2010, 08:19 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Worthington, Iowa
Posts: 191
Yeah, ive been reading and it says if you use the on board mic with the shotgun mic it makes 2 mono tracks, but I can't seem to be able to seperate them to edit them seperately. The single track falls on audio 1
__________________
Jeff Mayne
Gone Thinkin Outdoors
Jeff Mayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2010, 10:48 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Go to the response to the other thread you created on this same topic in the Premiere forum: audio in Premiere Pro CS4.

This is why it's problematic to create two threads on the same topic... sometimes you miss an answer.

Premiere is showing two mono channels in one track because that's all the cam can record. It will always only record one track with two channels. If you were to use a four-channel external recorder you would then import two tracks with two channels each. But the Z5 by itself can't do this.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:54 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network