Anyone got their FX1000 working as a webcam? (Skype?) at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 15th, 2010, 07:43 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Natchez, MS
Posts: 26
Anyone got their FX1000 working as a webcam? (Skype?)

Hi there.

Using Win/7/64bit. Sony Vegas Pro 10 - 64bit.

Wanna use the FX1000 to teach guitar online using Skype. Is this possible?

Have tried a driver called Dvdriver from Trackercam, but I don't think it's Win64 friendly. No success. Any other way of getting Skype to see the IEEE (Firewire) input?

Thanks in advance,

Martin Barret
Martin Bannet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2010, 01:46 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Natchez, MS
Posts: 26
Another thought - maybe firewire to usb converter?

A firewire to USB input converter. Has anyone tried such a thing and would it work (do you think) on a feed from the Sony FX1000?

Thoughts?

Please & Thanks!

Martin
Martin Bannet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2010, 10:41 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
i might be totally wrong (i usually am), but wouldn't the output from the fx take up too much bandwidth?

i though skype type cameras were pretty basic / minimal affairs....
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2010, 09:05 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Natchez, MS
Posts: 26
Yeah, but imagine the results!!!

What if you COULD use the FX1000 (and/or other high def prosumer cams) for Skype - awesome resolution and image. I'm thinking even the fastest computer would struggle, I realize. But what if you could constrict the proportions to accommodate bandwidth issues - make the video coming in size down to a smaller frame.

Martin B.
Martin Bannet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2010, 02:55 PM   #5
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 3
It works for me. I'm on a mac, plugged the FX1000 in via firewire and selected the cam in the preferences. There's an annoying lag but it looks great.
David Choii is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:35 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network