Filming 4:3 on Z5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 4th, 2012, 06:57 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 33
Filming 4:3 on Z5

I have to film some interviews later next week and the client wants them in 4:3 Aspect ratio, they also said they require the footage minimum of 640 x 480

Any suggestions on how you would go about doing this? I have tried a bit of filming in 4:3 but it is in SD.
Alan Angel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2012, 09:48 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 471
Re: Filming 4:3 on Z5

Well, your client seems to have specified SD -- 4:3 @ 640x480 pretty much fills that bill exactly ..? Your PAL shoot will give you marginally more pixels vertically, but nothing significant and you can resize to NTSC-standard 480 on export from post if that is really what they want.

Cheers,
GB
R Geoff Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2012, 10:11 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 33
Re: Filming 4:3 on Z5

He asked if I could film it in a higher resolution than 640 x 480 if possible but I don't see how I can on the Z5
Alan Angel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2012, 10:51 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Posts: 184
Re: Filming 4:3 on Z5

Shoot in 16:9 HD, then crop off the side so you get a 4:3 frame and export it at that resolution for him. Though, it all depends what he wants to do with it. If he's going to use it on a website at that resolution no problem, broadcasting it at that you need to downconvert it to SD..
Sander Vreuls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2012, 03:41 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: sydney
Posts: 304
Re: Filming 4:3 on Z5

Shoot 16:9, but make it 4:3 safe, so just leave plenty of room on each side when you shoot.
Are you shooting on MRC or onto tape?
If tape just open a DV standard project (CS5 premierpro) then export as a wmv or h264 at 640x480. I assume he wants that size as it's going on the web or an intranet.
Same with MRC - just scale to frame size in the settings and export.
Chris Duczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2012, 04:50 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 33
Re: Filming 4:3 on Z5

Yes it is on tape and I use Edius 6.0

I was thinking about shooting 16:9 but am not sure of the exporting from Edius, I have not been using it very long.
Alan Angel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2012, 06:28 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 33
Re: Filming 4:3 on Z5

Thanks for the help guys

Last edited by Alan Angel; March 5th, 2012 at 07:38 AM.
Alan Angel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network