C:32:11 Error at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 12th, 2013, 02:38 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 790
C:32:11 Error

Did some searching, seems occasional to a few owners & Sony Cams in general. Wondering if anyone else had any first hand experience with this. Basically, its when loading the tape the error code just flashes in the LCD screen. It's tough to eject the tape, though I've found partially closing the lid, then pulling it back open works.

Ultimately though I gotta get it repaired. I've sent two places for estimates, however, I'm also debating if it's likely $300 or so, would that $$ be better put to use into a HVR-MRC1 CF recording unit, which costs $750. Though then my camera remains pretty unable to use tape, in case anyone/client wanted a MiniDV format. Though thats becoming less frequent.
David Barnett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2013, 10:52 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: C:32:11 Error

ditto, only mine's 32:21

apparently it could be the ribbon cable on the transport 'door' that's 'cracked'. they do break and can give various 32 messages. seems you haver to replace the whole metal carriage as it's not a plug in cable.

in my case i'm told to 'reinsert' the cassette after ejecting - tape record tab closed. anyway, i'm loading / unloading tapes while camera is off - doesn't (thankfully) effect recording.

putting it in for service as soon as i get a break in my schedule.

btw. i also record to mrc - but MOST of my clients still demand tape backup.
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2013, 02:39 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 54
Re: C:32:11 Error

I bought card unit from eBay SONY HVR-MRC1K Compact Flash Memory Recording Unit for HDV DVCAM DV | eBay
It works great with my hdv 5z
Mark Owens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2013, 08:01 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 790
Re: C:32:11 Error

Thanks to you both for responding. Leslie, what kindof work do you do that they demand tape? Funny, cause I still wanna shoot to tape & fix it cause I too thought occassionally I'm asked for the tape. However, I noticed in the couple years I owned this that less ask for it on tape, and most if not all now also can obtain video HD/Memory cards, but also still take tape.

Mark, how do you like to overall? What CF cards & sizes do you shoot to & how many minutes per card/gb. Also, any issues with needing to stitch together long clips & files together. I'll definitely buy that, just a question of now or later.
David Barnett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2013, 12:32 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: C:32:11 Error

i shoot horses (love saying that), and the company i work for demand tape (and since they pay exceedingly well..... and i do over 100 tapes a year...). i also shoot for a national broadcaster whose preferred option still is tape. and, given the cost of decent cards, i wouldn't trust any large organization to get them back to me in a timely (if at all!!) fashion.

i used sandisk 16gb ultras, but tried a 32gb adata high speed one that cost a fraction of the sandisk ones and after a couple of years is still going strong.
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2013, 05:09 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 790
Re: C:32:11 Error

Thanks. Funny, I shoot horses too, but at a casino/racetrack & use their cameras for that. I think I read your shoot horse shows right, or do you shoot racing.

(BTW - I also like saying that as well)
David Barnett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2013, 12:21 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: C:32:11 Error

i shoot for sales / auctions / catalogs / promo's / stallions / stud profiles, etc.,

that what comes of 'retiring' to the horse capital of the southern hemisphere (scone, australia).

when asked if i like horses my usual reply is - yes, especially with onions in a hamburger!

nothing worse than a yearling trying to parade ;-)
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2013, 01:34 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Newbury Park CA
Posts: 53
Re: C:32:11 Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leslie Wand View Post
ditto, only mine's 32:21

apparently it could be the ribbon cable on the transport 'door' that's 'cracked'. they do break and can give various 32 messages. seems you haver to replace the whole metal carriage as it's not a plug in cable.

in my case i'm told to 'reinsert' the cassette after ejecting - tape record tab closed. anyway, i'm loading / unloading tapes while camera is off - doesn't (thankfully) effect recording.

putting it in for service as soon as i get a break in my schedule.

btw. i also record to mrc - but MOST of my clients still demand tape backup.
Yes you are right, but there's also more to it too. The tape transport (VCR Mechanism) has a lot going on inside of it and if one or more parts are not working in perfect harmony then you will have problems. Luckily the mechanisms are somewhat reliable, yes they do break but only after several hundred hours of use. Things that you could do to prolong the life of the tape mechanism are: using the same brand and grade of tape, storing you camcorder in a bag or case when not in use (to keep dust and debris out of it), and making sure that you avoid impact or rough conditions with your camcorder. Your camcorder is definitely worth fixing or having the mech replaced on. I would however get the MRC1 to use in conjunction with the tape mechanism.
__________________
Sony And Canon Prosumer And Professional Camcorder Repair www.VideoOneRepair.com
Sherman Bahr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2013, 01:45 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 54
Re: C:32:11 Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Barnett View Post
Thanks to you both for responding. Leslie, what kindof work do you do that they demand tape? Funny, cause I still wanna shoot to tape & fix it cause I too thought occassionally I'm asked for the tape. However, I noticed in the couple years I owned this that less ask for it on tape, and most if not all now also can obtain video HD/Memory cards, but also still take tape.

Mark, how do you like to overall? What CF cards & sizes do you shoot to & how many minutes per card/gb. Also, any issues with needing to stitch together long clips & files together. I'll definitely buy that, just a question of now or later.
Hi David sorry so long on reply the 32gig sandisk cards i get 146 miniutes very quick to download approx 20 minutes for full card, I still think the tape quality is better also have a Sony FX1 did a comparison between the FX1 and card system camera NX5 showed it at a video club meeting and asked audiance to pick better video not telling them which was which they choose the FX1 on tape
Mark Owens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2013, 03:38 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: C:32:11 Error

strange. card and tape record the same file - hdv?
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2013, 09:52 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Re: C:32:11 Error

Yes, of course. There's no difference between hdv on tape and hdv on CF card if you are talking about simultaneous recording to both via the FX1000/Z5 (or any other cam with FW) with the MRC. Any perceived difference is purely the placebo effect and is all in your head. Bit for bit the files are identical unless you are talking about a physical flaw like a tape dropout.

If you had a cam with HDMI out (not the FX1) and compared that to tape it's unlikely you'd find tape better, from what I am told.

However, some may certainly prefer the softer, more filmlike look of the FX1/Z1 to the harsher, flatter, sharper, more video-like look of the Z5, but that is purely due to the Lens and chip, which are quite different from the older technology of the FX1/Z1. In the case of the NX/AX, then the codec does come into play as well, as it is not HDV and may in fact suffer from even greater compression than HDV.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:49 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network