FX1000 and recorder at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 28th, 2013, 03:31 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
FX1000 and recorder

When a recorder is used to capture uncompressed footage from the FX1000 or Z5 or any similar camera, what is the nature of the recorded files? 1920x1080? Or will they still be 1440? How large are they going to be and what format?

I have never used such a recording device so the whole concept is alien to me.

Thanks in advance.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2013, 05:44 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Re: FX1000 and recorder

Depends on the recorder. (Assume you mean card recorder, not tape.) But the Z5 isn't capable of anything more than HDV (m2t), which is always 1440. AVCHD (mts, m2ts) could be 1920, but the Z5 doesn't do that.

If you are going out via HDMI you might get a greater color space with some recorders but you can't get greater resolution than the chip can deliver. I think if you use a Ninja you might get the greater "uncompressed" color space.

But if you use an MRC you'll get exactly what you get on tape.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2013, 06:13 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: FX1000 and recorder

Thanks Adam, very helpful!
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2013, 11:17 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Re: FX1000 and recorder

Just be aware that if you're going to the recorder via Firewire you won't get anything different than what's on the tape. Only HDMI gives you "uncompressed," and not by much.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2013, 06:46 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: FX1000 and recorder

Okay, got it, thank you!
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:45 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network