Question about MRC1K at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 15th, 2014, 06:15 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: DuBois, Pa.
Posts: 22
Question about MRC1K

The manual for the Sony MRCK1 is very vague in many respects. Can someone tell me if there is a way to display on the screen of my Z5-U what is going on through the MRCK-1 (timecode, battery level etc.)? When I`m recording the only indications I`m seeing on the LCD screen are standby-record and time remaining on card in relation to what`s going to the MRCK-1. Thank you...
Denny Gulvas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2014, 06:23 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
re: Question about MRC1K

Yes, I believe that's pretty much all you can get. The rest is on the MRC. Although p 142 of your Z5 manual shows other indicators that will be lit when you have the MRC connected, such as the i.Link, CF and EXT REC CTRL indicators. The timecode should be the same on your MRC as on your Cam, and if the MRC is snapped to the back of your Z5 there is only one batt level to monitor, which is the one on your cam. If it's using the cradle for some reason, then it makes sense to have it on the MRC's screen.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2014, 07:06 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
re: Question about MRC1K

timecode, battery level etc.

they're on the display in the z5. what in particularly are you looking for?
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2014, 07:33 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: DuBois, Pa.
Posts: 22
re: Question about MRC1K

When running only the MRCK1 alone without tape, I do not have timecode registering on camera`s LCD. while shooting...
Denny Gulvas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2014, 07:55 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
re: Question about MRC1K

ah, i've never noticed that - interesting and i should imagine annoying...

i always run tape even though i never use it - i like the instant archiving of raw material.
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2014, 12:57 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
re: Question about MRC1K

It's showing on mine.

Of course, I always use Free Run, real time. It shows whether or not I am recording, whether or not there is a card inserted in the MRC.

It's the cam that generates all this info and sends to the MRC, not the other way around. So if you are not seeing on the Z5 screen, it is a Z5 setting, not an MRC issue. The MRC only records and displays what you send it from your Z5. The MRC should merely echo the TC that it is getting from the Z5.

Make sure you carefully go through your DISPLAY SET and TC/UB SET menus on the Z5 (and of course in the manual).
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."

Last edited by Adam Gold; March 16th, 2014 at 04:55 PM.
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2014, 05:49 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: DuBois, Pa.
Posts: 22
re: Question about MRC1K

Thank you for the information, as always it`s very helpful and greatly appreciated!
Denny Gulvas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2014, 11:17 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Re: Question about MRC1k

Note that the unit is called an MRC1k or just MRC1. I'm including that here so this thread will come up in any sub-forum searches on the unit name.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2014, 12:48 PM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Re: Question about MRC1K

Thread title amended.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:16 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network