Why not NTSC and PAL modes? - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270
Handheld and shoulder mount versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 20th, 2008, 09:51 AM   #16
Major Player
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 673
I call Sony support yesterday the tech said she was not aware of and upgrade or firmware for NTSC and PAL she said she would get back with me on Friday with and answer. Does any one have a contact person and phone number for the upgrade.
Brian Rhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2008, 10:04 AM   #17
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,562
Originally Posted by David Mowbray View Post
I wonder if the trip to Sony service is needed because the only way to upgrade the internal program is via some special connector.
My old PC-7 (the original upright palmcorder) was de-nEUtered - had its FireWire record function enabled - via the FireWire port. You could also do it with a special Sony Engineering remote via InfraRed, but this involved typing in Hex codes with a remote that wasn't publicly available. Perhaps the trip to a Sony Service centre is to get at such a remote...

Feels like the old days of blue-boxing.
Matt Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2008, 12:09 PM   #18
Major Player
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Clermont, FL.
Posts: 941
Anything new on this NTSC/PAL modification?
Laurence Kingston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2008, 03:10 PM   #19
Sony Electronics
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Park Ridge, New Jersey
Posts: 18
Hi, I work for Sony,

The Z7 & S270 camcorders can be upgraded by Sony service for PAL NTSC operation by the addition of a small circuit board. Once the ugrade is installed, you can slect the recording mode in the camera's menu.

Juan Martinez
Sony Electronics
Juan Martinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2008, 06:24 PM   #20
Regular Crew
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ubud, Bali Indonesia
Posts: 45
Hi Juan,

Thanks for the confirmation on this. I realize you're over in the states. Would you happen to have a direct access number and name for the person we'd need to coordinate with in Singapore?

I'm also very interested to know if there's any possibility of the addition of cache record for this camera and the EX1 as well?


Last edited by Joe Yaggi; April 4th, 2008 at 06:41 PM. Reason: additional footnote
Joe Yaggi is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:34 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network