zoom controller at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270
Handheld and shoulder mount versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 14th, 2008, 06:03 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northridge, CA
Posts: 10
zoom controller

Hi,
Does anybody know what zoom controller will work with the Z7 & S270u? Is it a 8 pin cable or lanc controlled.

Thanks, Mark
Mark Hovater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2008, 06:51 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 304
I've been using a standard lanc - Varizoom Stealth's in particular. I know there's the multipin in the front but don't need that for my uses.
Marshall Levy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2008, 10:37 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Charleston, IL
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Hovater View Post
Hi,
Does anybody know what zoom controller will work with the Z7 & S270u? Is it a 8 pin cable or lanc controlled.

Thanks, Mark
I have the same Bogen handle that worked with the PD-150 and VX-2000. It works just fine with the lanc.
Scott Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2008, 08:48 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Platte River, NE
Posts: 86
I have been using lanc VZ Rock Varizoom...works fine except the focus switch and auto focus button do not work with this camera. Not that I use them anyway, but...

the zoom and power buttons work just fine.
Jake Latendresse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2008, 09:23 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billericay, England UK
Posts: 4,711
The Bebob Zoe works fine too - all the buttons.
Tom Hardwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2008, 10:40 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Grange over Sands UK
Posts: 99
Sony

I got a Sony remote zoom control for my 270 (LANC) but cant get the remote focus working yet. Everything else works .There is a multi pin socket on the camera body at the front for other lenses than the standard Zeiss ( but at the moment I think only Fuji make a wide angle lens for 1/3 inch chip cameras and its a touch expensive) I wish Canon would get their act together and build a replacement for the YJ 12(or 13) which I had before for my DSR 570!
Barry Wilkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2008, 09:08 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 410
I bought 1 of the Beebob Zoe controllers at NAB. It will get its first official test this weekend. I also picked up a 16x9 WA lens that will be put through the paces as well.
Chad Dyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2008, 08:05 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Grange over Sands UK
Posts: 99
Which w/a lens did you buy Chad?
Barry Wilkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2008, 01:54 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 899
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake Latendresse View Post
I have been using lanc VZ Rock Varizoom...works fine except the focus switch and auto focus button do not work with this camera.
With the VZ Rock the focus rocker on the lower right will focus the camera. It's used in conjuction with the 'A' button on the lower left. Proviso. The camera must have its lens ring in the forward 'auto-focus' position for the VZ Rock to access these functions.

Chris Young
CYV Productions
Sydney, Aust.
Christopher Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2008, 07:01 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 410
I don't have the lens in front of me, but it was a 16x9 brand .75x WA angle. Its zoom through and really nice. I just wish it wasn't so heavy.
Chad Dyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2008, 08:15 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Houma, La.
Posts: 1,400
Images: 5
Quality glass is almost always heavy for whatever reason. Just something I've noticed through the years.
__________________

-Ethan Cooper
Ethan Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2008, 08:56 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Grange over Sands UK
Posts: 99
I presume it is a lens adaptor you have that fits to the front of the 270 lens?
Barry Wilkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2008, 10:00 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 410
Yep. It screws directly onto the Z7U. I had to remove the hood in order to make it fit, but I haven't found a replacement yet. 16x9 does sell one, but its $280 for a piece of plastic/rubber (http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...rch&Q=*&bhs=t).

I called BH and they really didn't have anything else. I might buy some black construction paper and double-sided tape ;)
Chad Dyle is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:27 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network