Help with CF unit and final cut v6.0.3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270
Handheld and shoulder mount versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 19th, 2008, 06:07 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cornsay Durham UK
Posts: 1,941
Help with CF unit and final cut v6.0.3

I recently got the Z7E camera and have been doing some tests to the CF recording unit.

My problem is that I cant get final cut studio 2 to see the CF reader in log and transfer. I downloaded the sony plug-in and I am running FCP 6.0.3 on an i-mac with leopard 10.5.2 and a macbook pro with the same software.

It has never worked with the i-mac but I could see the video files on the macbook until I loaded FCP 6.0.3.

Has anyone else had any problems seeing the CF units files or is there a simple setting that I have overlooked. It is appearing on the mac desktop as a video icon and I can go into the folders but as said the FCP log and transfer doesnt see the CF unit or any files.
__________________
Over 15 minutes in Broadcast Film and TV production: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1044352/
Gary Nattrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2008, 06:20 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 190
To get the mac to see the card you have to click on the little folder icon with the + sign in the upper left side of the log and transfer window. There should be a device named video or whatever your card reader is. Click on that and then on open. It does sometimes take a while to see it and then it should show you what files you have.

Bruce
Bruce G. Cleveland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2008, 06:32 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cornsay Durham UK
Posts: 1,941
Thanks for your reply Bruce I have tried that several times and whilst I an see the video folder when I click on it to open nothing happens, I have waited 30 mins.

The one time it did work on the macbook pro last week it just saw the CF unit straight away and I could see the three video files and transfered them fine.

It is only since I went onto FCP 6.0.3 that both machines wont work and I was wondering if any other FCP users have had similar problems.
__________________
Over 15 minutes in Broadcast Film and TV production: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1044352/
Gary Nattrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2008, 08:20 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Vienna
Posts: 24
hello gary!

look at my post:
http://dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=119742

i am not shure, if i sould update my macbook pro's final cut to 6.0.3

regards,
clemens
__________________
DALEYELAMA visual pre & postproduction
w w w . d a l e y e l a m a . c o m
Clemens Fischer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 07:13 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cornsay Durham UK
Posts: 1,941
I was talking to Sony this morning and they can not find a fix for this so for the moment I cant use the CF unit with my macs running leopard 10.5.2 and final cut v6.0.3
__________________
Over 15 minutes in Broadcast Film and TV production: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1044352/
Gary Nattrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 08:31 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 8
Do you have anything else connected on the firewire bus? make sure your firewire deck or camera is off before you mount the cf
Derek Woods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 09:49 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cornsay Durham UK
Posts: 1,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek Woods View Post
Do you have anything else connected on the firewire bus? make sure your firewire deck or camera is off before you mount the cf
Thanks for your suggestion Derek but it still does not work!

I had a call from Sony again to say that there was a new version of the plug-in software available from today V1.01-1 I have installed that on both macbook pro and i-mac and it still does not work. I even deleted the old version from the applications menu.

This is most frustrating as the CF unit mounts and I can see all the folders on the desktop and in FCP but it just wont read them into the import box.
__________________
Over 15 minutes in Broadcast Film and TV production: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1044352/
Gary Nattrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 11:12 AM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Vienna
Posts: 24
here is the link:

http://www.sony.ca/hdv/HVR-DR60_60i/...0/soft.html#A2

regards,
clemens fischer
__________________
DALEYELAMA visual pre & postproduction
w w w . d a l e y e l a m a . c o m
Clemens Fischer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 11:42 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cornsay Durham UK
Posts: 1,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clemens Fischer View Post
here is the link:

http://www.sony.ca/hdv/HVR-DR60_60i/...0/soft.html#A2

regards,
clemens fischer
That is version 1.01 the latest one is 1.01-1 and is here:http://www.sony.co.uk/biz/view/ShowC...veContext=true

Still doesnt work for me though!!
__________________
Over 15 minutes in Broadcast Film and TV production: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1044352/

Last edited by Gary Nattrass; April 29th, 2008 at 12:19 PM.
Gary Nattrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 11:49 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Nattrass View Post
Thanks for your suggestion Derek but it still does not work!

I had a call from Sony again to say that there was a new version of the plug-in software available from today V1.01-1 I have installed that on both macbook pro and i-mac and it still does not work. I even deleted the old version from the applications menu.

This is most frustrating as the CF unit mounts and I can see all the folders on the desktop and in FCP but it just wont read them into the import box.
Gary, do you happen to have the link to that V1.01-1.

Or is Nates link the one that you used?
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:52 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network