Z7 and Merlin Steadycam? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270
Handheld and shoulder mount versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 11th, 2008, 04:09 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Posts: 963
Z7 and Merlin Steadycam?

I know that, according to the specs, the Z7 is too heavy for the Merlin Steadycam, but has anyone here tried it in practice? Seems to me that adding weights should make it feasible...
Luc De Wandel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2008, 02:34 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luc De Wandel View Post
I know that, according to the specs, the Z7 is too heavy for the Merlin Steadycam, but has anyone here tried it in practice? Seems to me that adding weights should make it feasible...
Omg that would be very heavy. The thing is that the gimbel in the merlin is only rated to withstand a certain weight and once you go over that, you may risk breaking something and down goes your camera. I would not even consider putting my expensive Z7 on my merlin.

Bruce
Bruce G. Cleveland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2008, 04:46 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce G. Cleveland View Post
Omg that would be very heavy. The thing is that the gimbel in the merlin is only rated to withstand a certain weight and once you go over that, you may risk breaking something and down goes your camera. I would not even consider putting my expensive Z7 on my merlin.

Bruce
Thanks, Bruce. I see your point. I've been testing the Merlin with my second cam (a Canon HV30) today and after having done that I wouldn' trust my Z7 on it either. With the Canon wide-angle adaptor on the HV-30 the setup is already heavy enough as it is. Steadycam-shots will have to be done with the HV30.
Luc De Wandel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2008, 06:09 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 26
Hi Guys,

I currently use a FX1 and have just ordered my Z7 and was about to order a merlin for it as well.

The Australian distributor told me they have a new Merlin with an all metal gimbal that can supposedly take the Z7?? or about 3.2kg??

Any guidance would be great...i don't want to buy something i can't use
Andrew Wheatley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2008, 09:35 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Wheatley View Post
Hi Guys,

I currently use a FX1 and have just ordered my Z7 and was about to order a merlin for it as well.

The Australian distributor told me they have a new Merlin with an all metal gimbal that can supposedly take the Z7?? or about 3.2kg??

Any guidance would be great...i don't want to buy something i can't use
I do think that it does meet the weight requirements, but just barely. A better question I have is why would you put yourself through that punishment? That would be very heavy to handle even for a few minutes.

Bruce
Bruce G. Cleveland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2008, 02:16 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce G. Cleveland View Post
I do think that it does meet the weight requirements, but just barely. A better question I have is why would you put yourself through that punishment? That would be very heavy to handle even for a few minutes.

Bruce
So true! Even the HV30 with it's heavy wide-angle adaptor is a combination that is quite hard to handle for a long time. After 10 minutes you feel it in your biceps. Don't forget that the combination of the Z7 plus the appropriate weights would be around 6 kg!
Luc De Wandel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2008, 08:09 PM   #7
Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nottingham, MD
Posts: 66
I have the newer Steadicam Merlin with the metal gimbal and tried it with my Z7U. The camera is too heavy for it, even with all of the Steadicam weights. I use it on my Canon HV20 and it works great on that. I assume if you also purchased the $1900 chest and arm attachments for the Merlin, that would work. Has anyone tried this? I didn't want to spend that kind of money, at least not yet.
Stephen Gradin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2008, 07:53 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 937
I've read that the new metal gimble in the Merlin can take more weight, so has anyone else tried the Z7 on the Merlin?

I know the above posts say it is too heavy, but all I see in product photos are the Merlin w/ the Z1. Z7 isn't too much heaver than the Z1 so I'd think it would be very possible if you got used to it.

I'm sure if you're used to the HV20/HV30, the Z7 seems like a beast, but the Z7 really isn't that heavy of a camera.

A couple years ago I had a Sony Betacam SP (DXC-537 BVV-5) that I was using on a daily basis. Got to use a Betacam SX camera when mine was in the shop & the SX felt light (even though the SX was still at 18lbs loaded up). So I think "heavy" is always relative.


Also, my understanding is that the "new" Merlin w/ the metal gimble is any Merlin that isn't the "Garrett Brown Signature" series. Anyone know if that is correct?
Zach Love is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2008, 02:53 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burbank, CA 91502
Posts: 946
You have to move to the Pilot.....

Jim Martin
Birns & Sawyer
Jim Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2008, 10:57 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Martin View Post
You have to move to the Pilot.....

Jim Martin
Birns & Sawyer
Do I have to, have to, HAVE to move to the Pilot? Or do I just have to move to the Pilot?

Because according to the first specs of the Merlin, the Z1 can't fly. Yet nearly all the photos / demos I see of the Merlin has people flying the Z1.

I can't imagine that if the Z1 can fly the Z7 absolutely 100% w/o a doubt can NOT fly too.


Have you (or anyone) tried the Merlin w/ the Z1? Or the Z7?
Zach Love is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2008, 05:13 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zach Love View Post
Do I have to, have to, HAVE to move to the Pilot? Or do I just have to move to the Pilot?

Because according to the first specs of the Merlin, the Z1 can't fly. Yet nearly all the photos / demos I see of the Merlin has people flying the Z1.

I can't imagine that if the Z1 can fly the Z7 absolutely 100% w/o a doubt can NOT fly too.


Have you (or anyone) tried the Merlin w/ the Z1? Or the Z7?
I tried the Z7 with the Merlin (with plastic gimball) and it's too heavy. I use the Merlin for my second camera now (Canon HV30 with the heavy original wide-angle adaptor) and that works fine.
Luc De Wandel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2008, 07:52 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 8
Z7U with Merlin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zach Love View Post
Do I have to, have to, HAVE to move to the Pilot? Or do I just have to move to the Pilot?

Because according to the first specs of the Merlin, the Z1 can't fly. Yet nearly all the photos / demos I see of the Merlin has people flying the Z1.

I can't imagine that if the Z1 can fly the Z7 absolutely 100% w/o a doubt can NOT fly too.


Have you (or anyone) tried the Merlin w/ the Z1? Or the Z7?
I tried Merlin with my Z7U and its too heavy, and It will burn your arms after couple of minute. Maybe adding Merlin Vest & Arms will help? has any one tried it?

I'm thinking of moving to Pilot too
Kuswendy Yasukin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2008, 08:43 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuswendy Yasukin View Post
I tried Merlin with my Z7U and its too heavy, and It will burn your arms after couple of minute. Maybe adding Merlin Vest & Arms will help? has any one tried it?

I'm thinking of moving to Pilot too
So you were able to get it to balance, correct?

I'm almost certain that I'd get the vest & arm too. Main thing I wanted to know is if the Z7 could balance on the Merlin.

I've shot MOS (man-on-the-street interviews) w/ one hand holding the mic & the other holdring the camera. The Z7 gets heavy after a couple min of that (I personally think that I have an easier time shooting w/ only one hand w/ a larger Betacam than these smaller cameras). I'm expecting to have to train a lot with any Steadicam to make it work, espicially when the counter weights double the pull downward.
Zach Love is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:08 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network