HDMI out for edit monitoring? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270
Handheld and shoulder mount versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 13th, 2008, 03:50 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 41
HDMI out for edit monitoring?

Howdy

I am wondering if I can use the HDMI port as an out to my monitor when editing?

does this work with the Apple Intermediate Codec or ProRes?

I always used my VX2000 as an interface for editing and am wondering if this will work with the Z7...

I work on a Macbook Pro and can't go the black magic route...

thanks

Jamie
__________________
www.lostwax.org - Multimedia Dance Theater
Jamie Jewett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2008, 04:05 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie Jewett View Post
Howdy

I am wondering if I can use the HDMI port as an out to my monitor when editing?

does this work with the Apple Intermediate Codec or ProRes?

I always used my VX2000 as an interface for editing and am wondering if this will work with the Z7...

I work on a Macbook Pro and can't go the black magic route...

thanks

Jamie
Hi Jamie

I am using the Intensity pro card which works great hdmi out. Not sure exactly what you are talking about doing. Can you be more specific?

Bruce
Bruce G. Cleveland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2008, 04:46 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 41
Z7 as monitor interface

Thanks Bruce,

I can't use an intensity on a laptop -

in the world of DV I could use the camera as an interface to the monitor

can I do the same thing with the Z7?

if so does it matter what codec I am editing with?

thanks

jamie
__________________
www.lostwax.org - Multimedia Dance Theater
Jamie Jewett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2008, 05:27 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie Jewett View Post
Thanks Bruce,

I can't use an intensity on a laptop -

in the world of DV I could use the camera as an interface to the monitor

can I do the same thing with the Z7?

if so does it matter what codec I am editing with?

thanks

jamie
That should work. Run hdmi out of camera to monitor and firewire from computer to camera. Should work.

Bruce
Bruce G. Cleveland is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:10 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network