Here are the issues I have with my HVR-Z-7 Camera. - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270
Handheld and shoulder mount versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 17th, 2008, 05:11 PM   #16
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cornsay Durham UK
Posts: 1,941
Pete good to hear that the feedback loops are established here in the UK, I personally chose the Z1 over the Ex-1/3 as the dvcam crossover and low cost CF cards are a real winner for me. It also allows multi format shooting and tape archive.

I have recently demo'ed the Z7 to two media uni's here in the north east and they are very impressed with the camera and workflow.

I too have issues with certain aspects relating to final cut and the cf import but have overcome these by using avid for any jobs that need the fast cf turnaround.
__________________
Over 15 minutes in Broadcast Film and TV production: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1044352/
Gary Nattrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2008, 05:04 AM   #17
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hull, UK
Posts: 107
It's interesting to hear that the Z7 intercuts well with DigiBeta - I haven't bought a lame camera then!
__________________
Jonathan Richards -- Cameraman, Editor, Motion Graphic Artist
Mobile +44(0)7939 512215 mail@jonathanrichards.tv
Jonathan Richards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2008, 09:41 AM   #18
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 98
In response to the original issues raised:

1. All Scan Function Missing

The screen is actually All Scan, but as you say it is the plastic edges of the screen which crop it very slightly. I was disappointed too, but the amount of image lost is really minimal - nowhere near the amount of cameras without All Scan.

2. ENG Lenses Compatibility

Can't comment - haven't tried ENG lens yet

3. Timecode advances 15 frames.

I haven't noticed this problem with my Z7

'Also, timecode from Flashcard cannot be read by Avid or Adobe Premier Pro'.

Avid reads the timecode fine from my CF card import - not sure what is happening here

4. No timecode or Display Output on Video Outputs

In the menu, set 'Display Output' to 'All output'

5. Display Set - Too many icons displayed in the viewfinder.

I agree!

Hope this helps
Mike Paterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2008, 02:17 PM   #19
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 11
Thanks Mike.

Underscan?
I actually have quite a difference when the Z7 is outputted to an underscan monitor.

No timecode or Display Output on Video Outputs?
When I select 'Display Output' to 'All output'
timecode, etc. appears on external monitors but disappears after the menu selection is closed.
Very strange!

Several production companies have informed me of timecode drop out from Z7 material whilst importing shots to avid.

Thanks for your comments Mike
Pete Burns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 05:10 AM   #20
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 11
Z7 - Meeting with Sony Product Manager

Following a meeting with Robert France from (Sony HVR-Z7 Product Manager)
He told me that Sony have set a two week period to resolve several of the issues that I brought to their attention.

With regards the LCD underscan problem, he has asked for other Z7 users to email him asking for the underscan option to be made available on the Z7 as is on the Z1.

Note from Admin: email address removed from public view. Please do not post email addresses on public message boards as they are easily harvested by spammers. Thanks in advance -- CH

Another issue that’s come up is Audio Monitoring. The Z7 has No option to monitor channels individually.

The Z7 does not have the same audio monitoring options as other cameras, i.e. Z1, DSR, DigiBeta, etc.

Here’s what the Z1 manual says on page 65

CH1, CH2 Select to listen to CH1 and CH2 separately in L&R channels.

CH1 Select to listen to CH1 sound in the L&R

CH2 Select to listen to CH2 sound in the L&R

CH1+CH2 Select to listen to CH1 & CH2 synthesized in L&R


The Z7 only is able to CH1 +CH2 simultaneously.

Dropping this option on the Z7 makes sound monitoring difficult, for example.
When monitoring a radio mic whilst the camera mic is picking up ambient in a noisy environment, i.e. a presenter to camera in large gathering of people, F1 pit stop, etc.

He will be looking into this too.
Pete Burns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 05:47 AM   #21
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hull, UK
Posts: 107
I presume these potential changes are for the benefit of new purchasers of the Z7 and not part of some firmware upgrade that could be applied to existing Z7s??
__________________
Jonathan Richards -- Cameraman, Editor, Motion Graphic Artist
Mobile +44(0)7939 512215 mail@jonathanrichards.tv
Jonathan Richards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 05:58 AM   #22
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nottingham UK
Posts: 37
When you say resolve these things what do you mean, could existing owners get an update?

Some of my issues are:

1) Audio monitoring one channel in both ears is not available, when recording two. This is available in vcr mode tho.

2) All scan mode is missing

3) Timecode inconsistencies, between simultaneous tape and CF footage

4) A&B colour temps cannot be reviewed after the initial white balance. Only preset temp is seen in status screen.

5) None (or minimal) editing of on screen icons

6) 25p progressive to cf only seems to record 25p scan..?

7) -6db maybe should be stated as 0db, as more noise is present at 0db.

8) Continuous recording without breaks does not seem possible, i.e tape > cf (whilst tape change) > tape. image attached. always seem to get a break for some reason.

Attached Thumbnails
Here are the issues I have with my HVR-Z-7 Camera.-z7_to_cf2.jpg  
Jon Oneill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 06:01 AM   #23
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 11
Z7 Firmware upgrades

Rob, Sony’s Z7 product manager informs me that firmware upgrades are included in the two year Sony warranty; I was surprised too"!

You may be charged if you send it to your dealer or approved Sony repair centre for the upgrade, but not so if sent directly to Sony; that said you will probably pay shipping.

For your interest, I’m told that a second firmware upgrade is now available. It has no significant changes just a few minor issues that we wouldn’t notice.
Pete Burns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 06:45 AM   #24
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hull, UK
Posts: 107
How on earth are these Firmware upgrades applied?
__________________
Jonathan Richards -- Cameraman, Editor, Motion Graphic Artist
Mobile +44(0)7939 512215 mail@jonathanrichards.tv
Jonathan Richards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 07:00 AM   #25
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 11
Take a deep breath and relax......
..... they are installed by a qualified engineer, or a Sony approved centre.
Shame we can't just plug in a USB cable and ugrade the firmware as we do on DSLRs.
Pete Burns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 07:38 AM   #26
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Firmware upgrades on this camcorder are most likely accomplished via the Sony RM-95 IR remote (or whatever has replaced that model by now, if anything). And yes anybody can buy this device but it's useless for updating your own firmware if you don't know the codes.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 07:53 AM   #27
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nottingham UK
Posts: 37
Whilst we have our noses in the trough for updates, what about an:

image flip function for 35mm adapters, I'd like that.

Multi zebra functions,say 70% and 100% on screen at same time like ex1. Or different zebra settings to be assigned to assignable buttons, say 70% and 100% to buttons 4 and 5.

Coloured peaking option like v1 and ex1

Cinema aspect ratio onscreen markers. say 1.85:1

Eased out and in, shot transition function. other than dead start / stop.
Jon Oneill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 07:54 AM   #28
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hull, UK
Posts: 107
Excellent ideas... I'd like coloured peaking please!
__________________
Jonathan Richards -- Cameraman, Editor, Motion Graphic Artist
Mobile +44(0)7939 512215 mail@jonathanrichards.tv
Jonathan Richards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 09:03 AM   #29
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 98
Good news about the firmware - thanks for pursuing all this Pete. Can you PM me Robert Frances email (removed by mod)?

I would be happy to substitute some screen resolution for true All Scan display.

What about NTSC/PAL switch in a firmware upgrade? Currently this requires a hardware fix.

also, expanded focus isn't available when CF is set to synchronous - this feels like something firmware could fix.
Mike Paterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2008, 09:33 AM   #30
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 11
Z7 - Sony product manager

Below is a link to a page on my website that shows the Sony product managers mail address.

He has no problems with me giving this to Z7 owners.
Best regards

Pete

http://www.peteburns.com/Z7%20Problems
Pete Burns is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:20 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network