Adjusting the Z7's flange focal length automatically? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270
Handheld and shoulder mount versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 27th, 2008, 04:41 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 27
Adjusting the Z7's flange focal length automatically?

Has anyone had any success with adjusting the flange focal length automatically, as described in the Operating Guide for the Sony HVR-Z7U on page 11? I have tried about 20 times now, following everything to a T, and every time, I end up with the message [Could not adjust]. I have successfully performed the manual adjustment, but not sure if I am even doing that correctly. What's the point of this operation anyways? I am still learning with this high end camera.

Thanks!
Dennis St. John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2008, 07:53 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NSW / Australia
Posts: 76
Adjusting the Z7's focal length flange automatically?

G'day,
You've tried 20 times, I've tried about 12 times. When it finally worked, I had all room lights
switched off with the target taped to a wall. Perhaps that made the difference?!
Cheers, Gerd
Gerd Kogler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2008, 09:54 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cornsay Durham UK
Posts: 1,941
You also need to have the chart about 15 feet away from the lens.
__________________
Over 15 minutes in Broadcast Film and TV production: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1044352/
Gary Nattrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2008, 06:46 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NSW / Australia
Posts: 76
Perhaps a silly question:
Is flange focal length adjustment still necessary, if used with the 12x Zeiss AF lens in manual focus mode ONLY? What about 35mm lenses with the Tapa adaptor, which can only be used in manual focus?
I appreciate your kind response, it saves me a bit of testing around, and it's always good to be sure.
Thanks, Gerd.
Gerd Kogler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2008, 10:02 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerd Kogler View Post
Perhaps a silly question:
Is flange focal length adjustment still necessary, if used with the 12x Zeiss AF lens in manual focus mode ONLY? Thanks, Gerd.
Typically, when you use the lens in manual mode, most photogs will zoom all the way in, focus perfectly and then zoom out and frame the shot. If you do that without adjusting the flange properly, when you zoom out, if the adjustment is not already spot on, your image will be soft and not in focus. If you don't zoom in and just trust the EVF or LCD (which are lower resolution than the camera is capable of) you could still be soft. There is no good reason not to adjust the flange back properly before you ever use the camera with what ever lens you are using.
Greg Laves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2008, 06:47 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NSW / Australia
Posts: 76
Thanks for the 'in-depth' explanation, Greg.
Gerd
Gerd Kogler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2008, 06:22 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NSW / Australia
Posts: 76
Adjusting the Z7's focal length flange automaticallly?

Hi Greg,
just a final word on your advice.
With non-Zeiss lenses FLANGE BACK is not available in the menu, thus it can't be done
(page 106 bottom of Operating Guide). I have no trouble though focusing a 35mm Tele-Zoom and I always get the desired results. Focusing has to be done in full zoom, of course, as the much shallower depth of field is a great help.
Am I missing something?
Ciao, Gerd.
Gerd Kogler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2009, 10:32 AM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Japan
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerd Kogler View Post
G'day,
You've tried 20 times, I've tried about 12 times. When it finally worked, I had all room lights
switched off with the target taped to a wall. Perhaps that made the difference?!
Cheers, Gerd
Right, this function will shows "Could not adjust" in normal light.
I tried 3 times only, 10 fts distance, just only close a little bit IRIS. OK!
Hirata Tomoki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2009, 11:06 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerd Kogler View Post
Hi Greg,
just a final word on your advice.
With non-Zeiss lenses FLANGE BACK is not available in the menu, thus it can't be done
(page 106 bottom of Operating Guide). I have no trouble though focusing a 35mm Tele-Zoom and I always get the desired results. Focusing has to be done in full zoom, of course, as the much shallower depth of field is a great help.
Am I missing something?
Ciao, Gerd.
Never saw this response until this thread was brought back to life. But broadcast lenses have an adjustment that is built into the lens for adjusting flange back. You do not use the Z7 menu.
Greg Laves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2009, 09:28 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NSW / Australia
Posts: 76
Greg,
I am using a Sigma 100-300 APO f4, so I can't do the FLANGE BACK. But I have no problem
in getting pin-sharp focus with that lens.
Cheers,
Gerd
Gerd Kogler is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:19 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network