Rack focus at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270
Handheld and shoulder mount versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 17th, 2009, 08:35 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 33
Rack focus

One of the things that gets me about the Z7's original lens is that I can't do out of focus to focus shots (I shoot alot of weddings) which used to be a fav shot of mine. The Z1 does this well, but of course I would rather use the best camera I have.
Geoff Schatzel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2009, 06:15 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Belgium | Europe
Posts: 441
Take a look at this free chapter from Vortex Media's DVD "Mastering the Sony HVR-Z7U and HVR-S270".

Vortex Media: VIDEO & PHOTO Tools and Training

Is this what you mean?
Ivan Snoeckx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2009, 03:09 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 33
Hmm partly. The depth of field in that video allows you to do a rack focus. What I was after is just turning the focus ring so my subject, at whatever distance, completely blurs out and then I focus it up. The stock lens doesn't seem to do this very well. I can't get anything completely out of focus that I choose to do so. And YES, I have the camera on manual for any of you wise guys out there :P

Thanks for your help.
Geoff Schatzel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2009, 03:39 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 640
Another obvious question. Were you shooting with the lens wide or in telephoto? When you are wide it is harder to get anything out of focus.
Greg Laves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 10:36 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 937
I'm guessing what is getting you is the MACRO.

Z1 has two focus modes: 1. Auto & 2. Manual
Z7 has three focus modes: 1. Auto, 2. "mostly" Manual & 3. "real" Manual

Z7: 1. & 2. are in focus ring position A, 3. is in position B.
(Please correct me if I got these A/B switched from how the manual mentions it)

Macro focus doesn't work when the lens is in position B.

So keep the lens in the A position, set it to manual focus & make sure macro focus is turned on.

Dimes to donuts, that will solve your in-focus problem.
Zach Love is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:48 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network