Comparing my Z7U to my FX1, a little worried. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270
Handheld and shoulder mount versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 21st, 2009, 02:49 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 842
Comparing my Z7U to my FX1, a little worried.

Ok, please bear with me. I just got my Z7U yesterday and am trying it out, trying to get comfortable with it.

I did some tests today outside, a guy riding on a bike. When I came back in to look at the footage I thought it looked pretty dirty, with a lot of compression. So I got my FX1 and went outside to do some tests.

Here's a screen grab of the sky from the FX1 and the Z7U. Both were shooting 60i and 0 gain. I white balanced on the same thing, but as you'll see it's not quite the same.

Please let me know what you think, it's causing me intestinal pain to think that my FX1 has a better PQ than the Z7U. I know this can't be the case, so I'm clearly doing something wrong. Please help me work this out.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Comparing my Z7U to my FX1, a little worried.-rt-overlays-ignored-utest-.jpg  
Bryan McCullough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2009, 04:16 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 588
Hi there,

Have you....

Turned all picture profiles off (indicated on lcd if on)
Got your ND filter set to '1' (and not half clicked in between somehow)
Got shutter speed locked at 60
Done the lens alignment reset thing (if you've taken the lens off while playing)

Just trying to think of some others for you...
John Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2009, 04:21 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Knight View Post
Hi there,

Have you....

Turned all picture profiles off (indicated on lcd if on)
Got your ND filter set to '1' (and not half clicked in between somehow)
Got shutter speed locked at 60
Done the lens alignment reset thing (if you've taken the lens off while playing)

Just trying to think of some others for you...
Yes to all of the above. There just seems to be a slight compression haze across the image. Maybe that's CMOS, I don't know this is my first CMOS camera.

I'm mostly pleased with this camera and am in love with 30p. But I was a bit disheartened at the PQ compared to my FX1. Need to work at it some more I guess...
Bryan McCullough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2009, 04:24 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 44
What are your other settings at?
Ed Quinto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2009, 05:15 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 588
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan McCullough View Post
But I was a bit disheartened at the PQ compared to my FX1. Need to work at it some more I guess...
Somethings wrong somewhere - should blow the FX1 out of the water... hmmm....
John Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2009, 05:28 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Knight View Post
Somethings wrong somewhere - should blow the FX1 out of the water... hmmm....
Well, tell me how to fix it. :D
Bryan McCullough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2009, 10:13 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 842
Ok, went on my first real shoot with the Z7U today. Where do I take my baby on her inaugural gig? A plant where they manufacture shingles. It was dirty, dirty, dirty. I was so concerned with keeping my camera clean I didn't pay much attention to the shots. Just threw it on 60i with about everything in auto.

Came back and looked at the footage tonight, and I'm pretty pleased. I compared it to some similar stuff I'd shot with my FX1 and the Z7 is noticeably better. I'm not sure what was going on in my initial tests, but I think I've come to be happy with the Z7.

I am running it at -6 gain, so that might be helping some of that compression noise I was seeing before.
Bryan McCullough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2009, 10:52 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 588
Good stuff mate!

Now buy this.... don't argue with me... just buy...

And don't mention that four letter word beginning with 'A' ever again!! ;)
John Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2009, 12:34 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 35
-3db on the Z7 is comparable, in my experience, to 0db on other cameras. -3 for us has been super clean.
Jordan Oplinger is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:31 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network