help - un-readable transcend card at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270
Handheld and shoulder mount versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 15th, 2009, 12:57 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 41
help - un-readable transcend card

Greetings folks

I have a Transcend 16GB that is un-readable by either my camera, a mac or a PC -
have used this 3x I think
any suggestions?

I can't seem to get anything to read it so I can't re-format...
the error I get from the camera is A:19:91
in the manual it says
"The CompactFlash you are using is not recognized. Check the type you are using."

thanks

Jamie
__________________
www.lostwax.org - Multimedia Dance Theater
Jamie Jewett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2009, 01:15 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cornsay Durham UK
Posts: 1,940
I have had this fault too when I had a card that was formatted on the mac, have you tried re-formatting it in the camera recorder.

That seemed to cure the fault I had, as a side note you should always format the cards in the camera and before each use.
__________________
Over 15 minutes in Broadcast Film and TV production: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1044352/
Gary Nattrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2009, 01:56 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 41
how to re-format if unreadable?

Thanks Gary

but how do I reformat in the camera if it's unreadable?

thanks again
jamie
__________________
www.lostwax.org - Multimedia Dance Theater
Jamie Jewett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2009, 03:17 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
There is a known issue with Transcend CF x133 cards and Macs. When you eject the card from the Mac the card can be permanently damaged. Transcend say they have fixed this on new cards but many older cards can be damaged by Mac's.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2009, 03:28 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alister Chapman View Post
There is a known issue with Transcend CF x133 cards and Macs. When you eject the card from the Mac the card can be permanently damaged. Transcend say they have fixed this on new cards but many older cards can be damaged by Mac's.
That's right. I had the same problem with two Transcend cards.
Luc De Wandel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2009, 03:30 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 41
ahhhh - thanks

well then - that might just explain it -

any idea what newer or older might mean?

I bought this in April...

thanks again

Jamie
__________________
www.lostwax.org - Multimedia Dance Theater
Jamie Jewett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2009, 04:09 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie Jewett View Post
well then - that might just explain it -

any idea what newer or older might mean?

I bought this in April...

thanks again

Jamie
I had the same problem with one bought in April, the replacement in early May was the same, the second replacement in June is fine :). Neither had been near a Mac by the way.
Hedley Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2009, 05:05 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 190
19:91 means the card is toast. I had one like that a couple months ago.

Bruce
Bruce G. Cleveland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2009, 07:32 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Williamstown Mass
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce G. Cleveland View Post
19:91 means the card is toast. I had one like that a couple months ago.

Bruce
Check to see if is under warranty.
Keith Forman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 03:35 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cornsay Durham UK
Posts: 1,940
When I had this the error massage came up on the card recorder on the camera but when I pressed the menu buttons I could still get into the menu to format it.
__________________
Over 15 minutes in Broadcast Film and TV production: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1044352/
Gary Nattrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2009, 05:24 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,482
This link to a previous thread may be of some help: http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/convergen...eopard-os.html

/ Battle Vaughan/miamiherald.com video team
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2009, 04:00 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Battle Vaughan View Post
This link to a previous thread may be of some help: http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/convergen...eopard-os.html

/ Battle Vaughan/miamiherald.com video team
Tried all this, but to no avail: even in the 'disk utility' app, the card in the Lexar reader is not recongnized! Ergo the 'erase' button is never highlighted and there's no way to access the card. What now?
Luc De Wandel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 07:02 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luc De Wandel View Post
Tried all this, but to no avail: even in the 'disk utility' app, the card in the Lexar reader is not recongnized! Ergo the 'erase' button is never highlighted and there's no way to access the card. What now?
No ideas, anyone???
Luc De Wandel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2009, 10:05 AM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luc De Wandel View Post
No ideas, anyone???
do you get any error when you put the card in the recorder? I had a couple cards that the recorder wouldn't recognize and it gave an error, but I just hit the 'Stop' button (or maybe it was the 'Menu' button) on the recorder and the regular menu came up and I was then able to format the cards with the recorder. You might be lucky.
Darryl Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2009, 07:13 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Yee View Post
do you get any error when you put the card in the recorder? I had a couple cards that the recorder wouldn't recognize and it gave an error, but I just hit the 'Stop' button (or maybe it was the 'Menu' button) on the recorder and the regular menu came up and I was then able to format the cards with the recorder. You might be lucky.
Thanks for the advice, but I already tried that and I keep getting the message: "error: A: 19: 91" and none of the buttons on the recorder is working
Luc De Wandel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:10 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network