HELP! Need Timecode on TAPE AND Card!? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270
Handheld and shoulder mount versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 6th, 2009, 10:44 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
HELP! Need Timecode on TAPE AND Card!?

Using a HVR-MRC1 Recording Unit attached to the back of a borrowed HVR-Z5U. I cannot for the life of me, figure out how to get TIMECODE to show up in the viewfinder or on the tape (I'm recording in DV mode on tape - AVI mode on the card). I can see the timecode on the back of the HVR unit running - but nothing in the viewfinder, or on the tape itself.

I've poured over manuals to both devices, and can't hit on the right combination of settings - I seem to be missing something.

ON the Camera Menu I have it in DV MODE (scan type 60 -this is for broadcast and matching another camera) EXTERNAL CONTROL to SYNCHRONOUS
On the camera menu _ on the TC settings I've got the TC RUN and then TC PRESET to ooooo then TC FORMAT to AUTO then TC RUN to REC RUN then TC MAKE to PRESET

On the HVR-MRC1 I have the unit I-Link set to AUTO the SETTING - TC FORMAT set to AUTO

It is my understandting that the HVR UNIT will get the timecode off the camera - which SHOULD be putting it on the tape - BUT NOTHING IS ON THE TAPE. The Timecode numbers do NOT advance in the viewfinder while recording, but the tape and card are recording just fine.

HELP me ObiWan.

A confirmed Canon user - frustrated by Sony menus.
Richard Alvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2009, 06:28 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London, uk
Posts: 99
believe i can help here


dont worry - it is recording time code- its just not possible to record dv or hdv without any form of time code.

in the viewfinder, does it display 00 00 00 00 or 00:00:00:00

if its the former, thats user bits, not timecode its displaying. userbits are just extra data you can record on the tape (maybe to denote camera number), but no-one really uses it.

If userbits are diaplyed, timecode will still be rolling on as you record, its just displaying userbits instead of the timecode in the corner.

There will be a button somewhere that'll flick between the camera displaying userbit and timecode. Look for a button marked TC/U-BIT, probably near the play/rewind buttons


hope that helps
Peter Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2009, 09:17 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
God Bless You Sir! Yup - did the trick. I couldn't for the LIFE of me figure out why I was recording, but not seeing timecode advance. I had the proper selection INSIDE the menu - but somehow the little button on the VCR control pad must have gotten togled. All is good and I'm off for a long day's shoot.

DVINFONet's vast and unpaid intergalactic research department comes through, once again.

Love this site.
Richard Alvarez is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:29 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network