correct exposure indicator at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Alpha and NEX Camera Systems > Sony NEX-EA50 (all variants)

Sony NEX-EA50 (all variants)
Including NEX-EA50UH / EA50EH / EA50H / EA50UK / EA50EK / EA50K


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 22nd, 2013, 02:36 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Napoli Italy
Posts: 17
correct exposure indicator

hello,after some testing I'm missing an indicator of exposure as I had in the canon XH A1 ... what possible solution?
__________________
Nino Defra naples
Nino Defra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2013, 03:10 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,064
Re: correct exposure indicator

Ah yes, that bar that would tell you what the camera thought what the right exposure should be, miss that too. I sold my xh-a1 some days and currently am burning all that money on accessories. :)

I hate to say it but that's gone my friend, you need to use your zebra's and the histogram to judge exposure from now on.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2013, 03:55 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East TN
Posts: 415
Re: correct exposure indicator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nino Defra View Post
hello,after some testing I'm missing an indicator of exposure as I had in the canon XH A1 ... what possible solution?
HISTOGRAM! It's perfect! MUCH MUCH MUCH better than that little exposure bar!
__________________
Jerome
www.jeromecloninger.com
Jerome Cloninger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2013, 08:06 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 8,222
Re: correct exposure indicator

The Histogram is without a doubt, the most accurate but what I find is you constantly need to switch it in and out as it takes up too much space on the screen all the time...I leave zebras on as my primary indicator and set them to 90% so that gives me a quite close idea of what is overexposed and what is not..with run 'n gun you normally have little chance to sit and study the exposure so I use zebras and then sometimes use the histogram to check critical stuff when the cam is tripod mounted.

Chris
Chris Harding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2013, 08:09 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East TN
Posts: 415
Re: correct exposure indicator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Harding View Post
... but what I find is you constantly need to switch it in and out as it takes up too much space on the screen all the time..
Chris
I leave zebras, peaking and histogram on all the time. I wish I could assign a button to switch to black and white though as focusing is easier with B&W display.
__________________
Jerome
www.jeromecloninger.com
Jerome Cloninger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2013, 10:48 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 8,222
Re: correct exposure indicator

Hi Jerome

Is there any room left to actually see what you are filming?? I too leave peaking on so my image is always full of yellow lines and dots ...zebras left on are no issue for me

Chris
Chris Harding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2013, 06:35 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East TN
Posts: 415
Re: correct exposure indicator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Harding View Post
Hi Jerome

Is there any room left to actually see what you are filming?? I too leave peaking on so my image is always full of yellow lines and dots ...zebras left on are no issue for me

Chris
Not really, I like going back and watching to see what I actually filmed.

Just Kidding. Yeah, not a problem for me. I'm used to it. Maybe from the 60d with Magic Lantern. I had the histogram on there with that. Speaking of, it would be nice to have the level indicator that Magic Lantern had on screen... that was nice.
__________________
Jerome
www.jeromecloninger.com
Jerome Cloninger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2013, 09:40 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Paradise, CA
Posts: 158
Re: correct exposure indicator

how good is the peaking? i know on the magic lantern hack it kinda sucks :-/
Chris Quevedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2013, 09:42 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East TN
Posts: 415
Re: correct exposure indicator

It's ok. I wish it was in between ML and what it is on this. Depending on how contrasty the scene is, I either have it set on Low or Medium.
__________________
Jerome
www.jeromecloninger.com
Jerome Cloninger is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Alpha and NEX Camera Systems > Sony NEX-EA50 (all variants)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:44 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network