VG10 buyer using bundled Vegas Movie Studio? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Alpha and NEX Camera Systems > Sony NEX-VG10 / VG20 / VG30 / VG900

Sony NEX-VG10 / VG20 / VG30 / VG900
Interchangeable lens AVCHD camcorders using E-Mount lenses.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 14th, 2011, 03:44 PM   #1
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
VG10 buyer using bundled Vegas Movie Studio?

I'm curious if anyone who bought a VG10 decided to start working with the bundled version of Vegas Movie Studio 10?

If you are using the bundled version, were you a previous user of a Vegas product or did you switch from some other NLE? Which?

Are you making stereo or 5.1 soundtracks?

Lastly, are you burning BD or AVCHD discs?
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2011, 06:38 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan Canada
Posts: 255
I'm using the bundled Vegas software with the VG-10. Brand new user ( had never even seen Vegas running The project I've been working on for the last couple of months is primarily "talking head" stuff, so I haven't had a need to get "fancy" with audio...yet.

That is my next "learning curve" that I want to tackle. Overall, I found Vegas to be rather counter intuitive initially, but then the proverbial "light bulb" came on, it all started to make sense. I won't say that I'm completely at ease working with Vegas yet, but I can now make most of the features work the way I want, which is a BIG gain from where I was two months ago
Wayne Reimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2011, 10:56 PM   #3
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Counter intuitive is the perfect word. But for $100 it offers super functions

I started using it with FCP. I exported a file after ediing and imported into MS. Now I didn't have to edit, just add music and narration using the 5.1 panners. Then I could burn a BD disc or an AVCHD disc.

With the VG10, I finally organized the GUI to give me two windows. I simply can't get used to tossing a clip sight unseen into a Timeline for trimming.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2011, 07:25 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan Canada
Posts: 255
I run three monitors for editing. I have the large monitor running the timeline, a small monitor running with the project files and the third running wither the trimmer,the preview window or the audio editor, depending on what I'm doing. For me, that was the key. Spreading out the display helped enormously.
Wayne Reimer is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Alpha and NEX Camera Systems > Sony NEX-VG10 / VG20 / VG30 / VG900

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network