Will 'Reset' wipe Firmware 2.0 upgrade? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony NXCAM / AVCHD Camcorders

Sony NXCAM / AVCHD Camcorders
Sony HXR-NX100, HXR-NX70, NX30, NX5, NX3/1, HXR-MC2500, HDR-AX2000, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 5th, 2010, 10:49 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43
Will 'Reset' wipe Firmware 2.0 upgrade?

Will pushing the Reset button on top of the cam to get back to Factory Defaults wipe the firmware 2.0 update?

As a new NXcam owner I'm bound to need to get back to the a known reference point at some time... but do not want to have to reinstall firmware updates.

Thanks for any help.
Francis Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2010, 01:05 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43
I wanted to bump this back to the top of the stack in hopes that someone may take a second look and know the answer.

Seems there should be a way to reset the cam to factory defaults w/o deleting the firmware upgrades...

Anyone know?

thanks for any help.
Francis Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2010, 01:25 PM   #3
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
I don't own the NX5, however I can't imagine any camera that would do what you're suggesting. I think you have nothing to fear. The reset button on camcorders such as this one simply restores all of the menu settings, etc. to their system defaults. It can't possibly be tied to firmware... if it is, I'll eat your choice of the many hats I have.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2010, 03:18 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 16
Chris is right.

Reset is only for resetting user-defined controls (custom picture profiles, preset buttons and the like). There's no way to change firmware without a Sony firmware utility tool, which is the program that you run off your computer while the camera is hooked up.
Alan Yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2010, 06:25 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 14
Exactly, the firmware is flashed to the EPROM and can't be formatted by a consumer without flashing it back, which the firmware upgrade program cannot do.
Ben Gourlay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2010, 10:41 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43
Thanks guys. That is the way I thought it should work too... but as soon as I did it without checking... it would have most certainly gone "Ka Boom: !

:)

Now I'm cool to reset anytime I need to get back to a know configuration.
Francis Lee is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony NXCAM / AVCHD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network