Why do you need Sony Content Manager for dowload clips? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony NXCAM / AVCHD Camcorders

Sony NXCAM / AVCHD Camcorders
Sony HXR-NX100, HXR-NX70, NX30, NX5, NX3/1, HXR-MC2500, HDR-AX2000, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 13th, 2011, 03:15 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 93
Why do you need Sony Content Manager for dowload clips?

One thing that I don't like about my AX2000 is the way to join large clips. When the video is more than 2 Gigas the cam makes a new clip... but you need a 150 Megas program (CMU) to join that clip!!!!
Why can't you insert this 2 clips in your timeline and edit it seamless? It makes a sound noise or frame issue if you do it.

And another rare decision: you need to USB-plug your CAM to activate the soft. The BEST of the CAM is the use of cards, SD or Memory Stick. But if you want to join a long video YOU NEED THE SOFT AND THE CAM to do it (?).

There is any trick to join large videos without CMU. If I work with Linux I can't feed Avidemux to convert videos... Is annoying because you don't have to install ANYTHING on MAC or LINUX (only a card reader) to acces the material and manipulate it.

Thanks.
Mikel Arturo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2011, 04:39 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billericay, England UK
Posts: 4,711
Sony's CMU is so easy to use and it combines clips over many different cards so seamlessly and only needs a USB card reader to do it - what's not to like I think with Edius 6 you can import direct (not sure) and avoid any audio and frame loss glitches.
Tom Hardwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2011, 01:59 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 72
I don't see what the big issue is. CMU also imports all the recorded clip metadata (which other programs won't do) and it downloads GPS information for each clip (if you turned the GPS on).
__________________
16-Year-Old founder and owner of OverDrive Media Group, a production company focusing on creating pristine HD video for the action sports industry.
Felix van Oost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2011, 04:37 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 93
Well, I see two issues:

1.- You can't borrow or give the card to the client (or the raw files recorded on a disc). If he don't install and activate the CMU, he can't joint splitter files.
2.- If the client download the CMU soft to joint the clips, he needs a SONY cam to activate it.

It's a closed solution.

I know that you need to split files in 2GB in FAT32 file system. But I don't understand why that files can't join seamless without any software help.

PD: And what happens if you work with Apple or Linux? Why waste the universality of SD card to add an unnecesary incompatibility? For firt time you don't need expensive tape player to get access to the material. SD cards are cheap and universal... but you need a propietary software to joint large videos (????).
Mikel Arturo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2011, 09:39 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 30
Why not just carry a laptop with you that has the CMU on it so that you can transfer all the clips to your clients SD card once the job is done?
Shedrick Mask is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2011, 09:43 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billericay, England UK
Posts: 4,711
Carry more kit? No no no, I carry quite enough as it is.
Tom Hardwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2011, 10:09 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Annapolis, Maryland
Posts: 101
CMU under Win 64

The Content Management Utility does not run under 64-bit Windows 7.
Mark Goldberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2011, 10:03 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 149
CMU runs fine on my Windows 7 64bit, no issues whatsoever.....
David Wayne Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2011, 12:28 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,940
Runs fine for me on Vista 64 or Win7 too.

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony NXCAM / AVCHD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:23 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network